When My Dad Died- Writers Block Poetry Contest Week 6

in #twbpoetrycontest6 years ago (edited)

Remembering my late dad who died the early hours of 22nd April 2015 while i was preparing for first semester exams of my third year in the university. I decided to capture the whole scenario into a poem of both the things that happened at home and my feeling in my room in the university.


Image source


My dad was like a canoe tied to a pier beside the seashore
His struggle with death that Tuesday was like a ship whose anchor is not sure
He became a shadow of himself than he has ever been
The hold of death over him was as painful as the sting of a bee


Image source
Like a man bidding his family farewell, my tears I could not hold
Sitting beside my bedside I wandered about the news of his death, just I was told
Thinking over the happy times we had together my heart was left in pain
I could not question God but I questioned death; Oh death! What is your gain?


Image source
My mum was quiet like the calmness over the morning sea
She imagined her wedding night far beyond our thoughts could see
She wished for his touch, his love; just in the skies like bubbles
Her heart wandered through decades and desired his cuddles


Image source
My siblings were not left out as they couldn’t help the hurt
His death was as though their lives was brought to a halt
In pains my kid sister cried, hearing her voice over the phone I was lost in thought
We had no option than to be strong just as we have been taught


Image source
Friends, families and well wishers came around but could offer only a sorry
We were consoled to be calm because he was a Christian who has gone to glory
I was calm and relaxed when I heard his beautiful and good history
Today I can be proud of my late dad because his life was a good story

Sort:  

Hi..I remember also ..my dad past away 8Yrs.Ago yah...Its been a years past ...but the memories still remain in our hearts..🙂

Yea such memories seen not to leave us. I left home either a week or two before he died.
His last words to me when i was leaving for school was
Manage the money you have, i will not send you money

It's not easy loosing a loved one, you inserted the feeling powerfully in the poem

Thanks so much for reading. Do well to join the contest oh.

I'm so sorry to hear that. Your poetry is touching my heart

Death is a must adventure. Thanks so much for coming around.

I really appreciate

You're welcome. My pleasure 😊

Thanks. So how is life treating you over there in your country

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56560.74
ETH 2390.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34