TVShowWayBackChallenge - The Pretender

in #tvshowwaybackchallenge6 years ago (edited)

After being nominated for this Tv Show Challenge (started by @saffisara) by @bengy, I wondered how many times I have probably been tagged in different challenges but never realized it or responded (sorry for all those people who have tried). I was also rather amused that @bengy actually thought I might be able to keep up anything for 2 consecutive days let alone a whole week :D But there is one show I wouldn't mind writing about just to see who else on Steemit might be a fan as well!

The Pretender


Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Pretender_(TV_series)

To be honest I don't remember when and where I was the first time I saw the show... if I had to take a guess it would have been one of those nights just randomly switching between the very few channels that was available at the time I was in high school and seeing a new show appear on TV. I wouldn't have thought much about the show at the time and probably didn't even start watching it from the beginning, but once I started watching the show it quickly became something that was on the 'must not miss' list of tv viewing until the show eventually ended.

I am actually pretty happy that IMDB gave it a solid 7.5/10, and it wasn't so much the story that fascinated me, since the idea of being someone who can be anyone but really just wants to find out who he is would not a new narrative concept. I clearly recall the moment after watching this show for the first time and thinking: "I'd love to be able to do a different job everyday and help people at the same time!"

Knowing full well that I didn't have an IQ of 180+ like the lead character, I nevertheless tried to emulate the deeds of Jarod by trying to help people whenever I had the opportunity - I have been a volunteer ever since high school and would continue to volunteer in many different capacities until this day, and I am sure that this tv show had some part to play in this. Eventually when the show ended and I was clearly on a path to one job/career, the memories of this show faded and like in the show the idea of living such a live would be out of my grasp.

That was until I decided to turn down the offer to go to medical school and pursue a career in research science instead, but then became a little bit disillusioned with where life was heading so I deferred my PhD studies and try to find my true calling - like Jarod I decided to run away and try to make sense of who I am and what my real purpose in life should be (okay, maybe not quite as dramatic - but I did have parents who were trying to catch me and bring me back to doing what they thought was best for me).

It was actually quite hard to write the post while watching one of the episodes... so many interesting memories came flooding back. Hopes and dreams that one had in their younger days, and maybe still secretly pursuing somehow? I also remembered writing an email about 10 years ago asking for the whereabouts of the lead actor Michael T Weiss:

And like the Pretender he was nowhere to be found, but it was a nice trip down memory lane nevertheless...

To join in the challenge, please follow the below guide:

📺 Choose one television show from any point in your youth.

📺. Write a few words about when & where you watched the show for the first time, what it means to you, and/or why it holds a spot in your memories.

📺 Try to write your text while watching an episode. As soon as it ends, wrap up what you were writing and submit it.

📺 Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated.

📺 Mention one person who should do this on each day.

📺 Tag it #tvshowwaybackchallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post.

Nomination
Today, I nominate @charisma777! What is a TV show from your youth?

Sort:  

Ha! That show was awesome.

Glad you think so too! I had high hopes for the tv series Limitless but it didn't live up to the expectations I had for the show :(

But at least The Pretender will always have a special place in my memory :)

I concur, can't add much else except I had the pretender in mind when I heard about limitless coming to tv , it was a fun show but could have been freaking amazing.

I think they spent all the budget on the appearance fee for Bradley Cooper on that show :D It was actually fun to see characters from different shows cross over with Jennifer Carpenter from Dexter also in Limitless.

Nice, I made you write a post, but you stole my next nomination...

I never watched this show, I had heard good things about it, so maybe I should give it a go!

Nothing in the rules saying that a person can't be nominated more than once though :p

I have never watched Monkey Magic but I have read the novel (along with the other three classics of Chinese literature). I am interested to see what your next show is :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58183.32
ETH 2475.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38