The Handmaid's Tale Review

in #tvshows6 years ago (edited)

cover.png

I'm a little bit late with this one, but considering all the FUD in the markets, big loses (recovering atm) and some bad shit I went through this week, this bleak and depressive show worked wonders for me. The Handmaid's Tale is set in a not too distant dystopian future. If you're not familiar with the meaning of that word, Dystopia is a place you don't want to live in, ever, I mean ever. Something went terribly wrong, in this version of dystopian future people became almost fully sterile, the results of no babies born made humanity batshit crazy. You can compare this TV show with the great movie that became a classic that you probably all know called Children of Men.

2.jpg

Handmaids are reproduction slaves, their whole purpose in this world is to have a child without consent, if they misbehave they will end up maimed or executed. The villains in this grim and depressive world are religious fanatics following their twisted logic, and also doing these heinous acts against the humanity. I got to say, that part of the show is very dark, you will want to see them all burn in every of nine circles of hell. When you come to hate certain characters you know that the show is great. That connection with the characters makes you wanna binge watch the whole show, hence all the rewards it picked during Golden Globes. Acting is flawless in this one, the scenes are tense and filled with emotion. I didn't expect to experience such a powerful story at the first glance, I was wrong and I can't wait to see the next season coming in april. 9/10

3.jpg

Sort:  

When you have Željka Markić interfering with your reproductive choices and when you look what is happening in places like Poland, El Salvador or Hungary and what extremist Christian denominations (or should I say terrorist groups) are doing or planning to do the book (and the tv show) seems more like a documentary then dystopian future.

@big.mama the best thing to do is to put some people on mute sometimes. Željka Markić in your case, in my case some other people. At least maintain some sort of illusion that everything is ok with the world, but we all know it isn't.

It would be easy to mute them if they wouldn't be the ones who put the laws in place and if you don't have kids with uteruses that could one day die because somebody wants to make Handmaids tale a reality.
It's really easy to pretend nothing's happening when it affects your life in no palpable way.

No need to be all logical and shit.. If I had a uterus I would probably care what those nutjobs are saying, but I don't have it, I do feel for anyone affected though.

No need to be al defensive and shit. Wink emoji. Happy face emoji. I was just trying to explain my position and why I found your advice on ignoring and muting bad.

@big.mama, do you sleep with dogs? Except @alktoni :P #markickocrkni

Ako imas potrebu ostavit meni debilan riplaj ne moras Tonija spominjat.

Oprosti, nisan mislija ništa loše, dapače, šala ko svaka druga, ali očito nije dobro sjela. Oprosti još jednom :(

Unfortunately, political power draws the corrupt and corrupts those with good intentions. Whether the control freaks call themselves "Christian," "Muslim," or anything else is really tangential. Even the US had literal eugenics programs a century ago.

Wow, thanks for the review! I always avoided to watch the show even after some friends recommend me it, but I never looked deeper into it. Now I saw your review here and saw that it was not that long and thought just read it and look how it is. It sounds really interesting at all. Now it's on my watch list for sure!!! Thanks :)

Last week I included this TV-show in my list to view, but it follows the Black Mirror, in which I still didn't watch the last series. Your review made me speed up in order to start watching Handmaid's Tale :)

yaah! when we come to hate certain characters you know that the show is great! the tvshow become more interesting and we are waiting for next episode!great thought with great experience

I would liked to have a few more words about what is happening in the show at all. Doesn't need to be spoilers, but a rudiment of what happens is always good.

When you come to hate certain characters you know that the show is great.

Bester in Babylon 5 :D

I try to avoid the spoilers like crazy, my number one idea when ever I write a review of a certain Tvshow where spoilers matter is to reveal as little as possible. I never watched Babylon 5. Shieet.

You should. I don't want to spoiler, but its politics, war, love, hate, revenge and the fight of the light against the dark where you are not sure who is which.

It seems interesting.i didn’t know about this show..i will watch it for sure.thaks for sharing
If you have time please visit my post😊

watched the first season, it was excellent. Have you noticed how elaborate was this society created. Too elaborate if you ask me. Maybe this show is actually just a survey. Hahaha

Thank you for recognizing my genius.
Here is a link to my new post.

https://steemit.com/blog/@legendary-writer/why-did-my-intro-only-make-usd4-00-where-are-the-thousands-that-jerry-banfield-promised

I would vote for your post, but it looks like you don't know how to create new paragraphs, the trick is to press enter two times after a sentence.

So what is this, a new type of experiment, be an asshole and expect to get paid? ;) I will vote for you only if you reveal what is your original account, you seem to know a lot about this platform and I generally hate voting for alt accounts.

Well Thanks for the review I will watch this show soon.. There are a lot of miserable things happening in the world. And we all just shut our eyes saying everything is ok... I never knew "Reproduction Slaves" still exist in this world.. Its horrible...

From the perspective of a women I found this seria really hard to watch. It was so stressful and in pain. As you said, I wanted to see them all burn in every of nine circles of hell but then somehow I kinda liked it ... Hate transformed into greed to watch more 😬 This is a super powerful seria and I can't wait to see second season 🤗

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63157.91
ETH 3096.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91