Altered Carbon Review

in #tvshows6 years ago

cover1.jpg

If you ever wanted to watch an excellent Cyberpunk TV Show look no further, Altered Carbon is a new Netflix binge worthy material with 10 masterfully done episodes worthy of one of the cyberpunk greatest classics, you guessed it, worthy of Blade Runner. You can see it in every detail how much influence Blade Runner had on this show, which is the best kind of influence to have.

In this version of Cyberpunk humans managed to create "stacks" which are chips with human minds and souls downloaded in it making any human with enough money to buy a new body immortal. The only way to kill someone is to destroy his stack. Changing bodies can really fuck up relationships over a period of hundreds of years, as one could imagine.

carbon.jpg

The main protagonist is called Takeshi Kovacs who is played by Joel Kinnaman, he did a great job and dare I say, a job worthy of Harisson Ford from Blade Runner. He is revived from 250 years sleep and is ordered to investigate a murder of one of the highest ranking individuals on the planet. Without going into spoiler territory too much let me just say that there are some very interesting twists in this show, specially if you include disposable bodies in the mix and immortality. Every scene, every fight choreography is so good in this show and they serve the Cyberpunk theme masterfully. There are moments where you will truly love this show if you like this kind of stuff.

carbon2.png

I finished watching Altered Carbon in two days, it's that good. A must watch for any fan of Science Fiction and Cyberpunk. Score: 9.3/10

Sort:  

Altered Carbon was amazing and I recomended it to all my friends. Since Frank Herbers's dune book and movie with sir Patrick Stewart and all Philip K.Dick's creations both movies and books I did not see such a complete sci fi with all the elements of a masterpiece . I watched all the episodes in on day. Thats how much I liked it ! Thanks @moon32walker for sharing this!

This was one of the better things I have seen lately. The plot is excellent and characters amazingly developed. I did get a little angry in the last couple of episodes because... (avoiding spoiler alert)... and that is so twist up, but again, interesting to watch.

From a female point of view, Joel Kinnamans body with Will Yun Lees face would be the best looking man in the world 💚

Favourite character: POE, I just love Poe, the character, the actor, the story about him/it, everything!

You did a good review. Sorry for the long comment but I am still under the influence of the show :)

Poe was my favorite too, defensive AI hotel with 2 miniguns :) Yeah there are some great looking actors and actresses in this show. From a male point of view Martha Higereda and Dichen Lachman, damn :) All nude. Great great tv show.

I did not actually read all of your blog incase of spoilers. I just started watching this and have seen 2 episodes. I like it so far. I feel that there is a certain amount of openness to the content leaving my imagination to fill in the blanks. I am glad you found it enjoyable. It gives me confidence to keep watching.

Peace,
The Last Sage

There are no spoilers, I never spoil the story in my reviews. There was one particular scene that is so cool I wanted to include it in this review, but I decided to be consistent with no spoilers.

over time, the plot quickly revolves. I just finished watching the whole season and I'm impressed

Looking forward to it. The book is one of my favourites. Glad you rate it highly.

The show actually intrigued me for the book and at the moment I'm exploring what changed. It seems they changed a lot.

I wrote a review on the book, as it is one of my favourite reads. I'll look for the show asap and see what changes I can notice. I wouldn't be surprised, but now I'm curious.

It seems like an interesting show, and Netflix never dissapoints me with their series.I've watched the trailer and it just shows a nice cyberpunk vibe just as you said. So i'm gonna put it on my watchlist, as soon as i finish watching Dark.

Netflix never disappoints. Lately every show I watched has been insanely good.

Dark is an interesting series, but Altered carbon is a different kind of entertainment. I liked both series. The only thing that is sad is that there is not enough time to watch all the cool things because a huge amount comes out

Thanks for the review! I have been thinking of starting to binge this show, for some reason it takes a lot for me to actually start watching a new tv show, im not sure what it is? I really liked Joel Kinnaman in The Killing. Knowing me ill probably finish watching the whole thing in 2 days... :)

Definitely binge worth show. Highly recommended Cyberpunk. Prepare your home made popcorn and say goodbye to your social life for 2 days.

I've heard different opinions on this one, so thanks for this review. I love cyberpunk and I love Blade Runner, so I'll probably love this series. I loved Kinnaman in The Killing, not so much in Suicide Squad but I guess that movie was a disaster anyway. I'll definitely watch this as soon as I can!

Sold! going to watch it tonight!

Just started last night, smells like Blade Runner, isn't it? :)

Totally, at times even more interesting.

That's another review I see of this series here in Steemit!

That means I really need to watch this! It has been on my watch list for a few days now!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63867.81
ETH 3135.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84