[Review]: The End of the F***ing World

in #tvshows6 years ago

It has been nearly 24 hours since I finished watching Netflix's original series "The End of the F***ing World". And obviously, I still can't get over it. It made me feel so much emotions -- new, unfamiliar, sweet, painful, sad, dark emotions I haven't felt from a movie/series for a long time. So here's me, writing about it hoping this could inspire some of you fellow Steemians to open your minds into watching this. But before that, I must list some notes:

  1. SEMI-SPOILER ALERT!!! I will not disclose detailed scenes here, but I will give you snapshots of some of my favorite parts.
  2. The photos inserted are not mine, all credits to Netflix!! Haha.

Okay, so here are some reasons why I recommend this series:

ONE. The story revolves around two teenagers - James, a self-acclaimed psychopath who has killed different creatures at the age of 17, now plotting to kill his schoolmate Alyssa, a girl who has anger and family issues and thinks the world is bleak.


This isn't a common plot, admit it. It's exciting to see a perspective from both of the main characters and see how the story goes.

TWO. Alyssa's blatant and aggressive attitude will make you fall from your chair laughing. You'd really wonder and find it amazing how her mind works! I really do think that James found a perfect match in her.

THREE. Awkward moments are awkward!! But sometimes cute. :)

FOUR. The transition of James when he started to feel something was really sweet and innocent. I personally believe that everybody has a reason behind their motives, that every bad decision we do has a root inside our soul, sometimes we figure this out and sometimes we don't. But given that, I know everybody with a dark past has a capability of changing, and of healing.

FIVE. I will not tell more about the ending, but it really gave me a rush of emotions. It was the hook that caught me like a fish. I stop and look at a blank space every time it crosses my mind. I tend to create and imagine a future for movies/series I watched, but for this one, it feels like I don't want to make one.

SIX. The soundtrack is good and full of emotions too. I tried searching a playlist in Spotify and I found one:

spotify:user:darcie2000:playlist:3C1ByR0RSgH9iaRRgvQ6Lg

SEVEN. This series is as short as your patience. It only has 8 episodes, and each episode lasts for 20 worth-it minutes. So you can binge watch it after dinner and finish before reaching for your midnight snack. (No extra calories!)

Overall, if I'm going to rate this series, it's a 9/10!! So if you're planning to watch it, you can check out the trailer first:

I hope I did not spoil too much. I really just had to post about this. Maybe after a few years I'd find myself reading this review and remember how this made me feel different emotions. Thank you for reading! :)

Sort:  

Just finished watching this, and it's really one-of-a-kind. The soundtrack fits the scene perfectly!

Each thought passing through the two protagonists' mind makes you more curious about their characters.

Solid movie. I agree!

super enjoyed this series! It’s one of a kind that you would not expect. I had a lot of emotions while watching this. Kudos to the writers of the series 🙌🏻 Must watch!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61620.03
ETH 3394.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50