The Innocent (El inocente) review - a Netflix original series (Spanish)

in #tv3 years ago

Last week we decided to watch a to us unknown TV series on Netflix. The title was Innocent, and the story sounded good enough to make it worth a try. We often try to watch movies and TV series, only to stop watching after 15-20 minutes, but the fact that we actually watched all eight episodes of Innocent should already give you a hint about the fact that we actually enjoyed this series.

the wife.jpg
The wife of Mateo has a very important role in The Innocent.

Innocent is yet another interesting title on Netflix proving that they are trying to make the service more and more international and showing more and more content that isn't produced in the USA. I believe this actually makes the platform more and more interesting, due to a wider selection of titles and content.

So, what is Innocent all about?

What is The Innocent about?

We meet Mateo Vidal, a person who gets in a fight and accidentally kills another boy in the heat of the battle. He goes to prison, and after four years, he is released. His life is seemingly getting better and he has even met a beautiful girl that he loves and that is expecting a baby. But, one day his wife travels to Berlin... but somehow, she never boarded the plane, and she doesn't pick up her phone. What has happened? Mateo is doing his best to find the truth. At the same time, a body is showing up, and the police is starting the investigation.

mateo.jpg
Mateo is the main character of the series...

One of the coolest things about the series is the first two episodes. Seemingly, they tell two completely different stories, and you might almost wonder if you are watching the same series. But, from the end of episode two and after that, all the events from episode one and two are sawn together, and the story is heating up.

Interesting, but not an adrenaline series!

I like crime series that pump the adrenaline in my body, and that makes it hard to fall asleep afterward (for example, the first seasons of 24). This isn't like that. It is interesting, I for sure wanted to see how the story would come to an end, but it wasn't so that I had a hard time waiting to watch the final episodes. I know, when you are in the midst of some series, you just can't wait to continue to find out how it will end. I did not feel that way about this series. I was curious, but nothing more.

The second Spanish series in a few months...

Not long ago, I watch Who Killed Sara, and it was interesting. There are a couple of similarities between the series, and I believe that those who enjoyed that series, might enjoy this one as well. If I had to pick, I would maybe say that I liked this one better, but I am not really sure. I guess both of them are somewhere around 6/10 on my voting scale.

In other words, it is okay to watch... and luckily, this is a limited series, meaning that after the 8 episodes, the story is finished and the plot is solved. It is not like Who Killed Sara, in which you finished season one, and you have just been left hanging in the air with thousands of questions and no answers.

All in all...

The Innocent is okay entertainment for those who want some action, some investigation, and an interesting story.

My score: 6/10

Now I am really curious. Have you seen The Innocent on Netflix? How did you like it? I would really love to hear your thoughts on the limited Netflix original series.

Sort:  

Hi, I'm new here and just found this post. It looks like an interesting proposal, I haven't seen it, and I haven't seen many movies or series in the last months, but you wrote a good review, now I have the desire to see this series, I will surely try to watch it in the next weeks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58664.80
ETH 2569.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42