Netflixing: Attack on Titan

in #tv8 years ago

Everyone just kept going on and on about what a great show this was. It became impossible to stay disinterested.

So, when I finally got my Netflix subscription, I decided to see what the fuss was about.

My Verdict: It was good.

Yeah, it was...good.

I mean, it didn't blow me away. It had impressive action, centered on interesting ideas, and a lot of fascinating characters. And all that, put together, made it just...good.

My biggest problem is that I watched the entire first season, and, at the end of it, I honestly didn't know any more about these people or the world they live in than when I started. They tried to introduce some mysteries, hint at strange happenings going on just under the surface, and then none of it materialized.

Perhaps I just need to watch season 2 to understand everything. But it seems like they passed up every opportunity to explain it in season 1, even though there were ample opportunities scattered throughout the story where they could have made some stellar reveals.

I dunno. The whole thing feels a lot like Lost. I worry that it's taking what should have been a natural buildup and bloating it to unwieldy proportions. But perhaps I'll never find out, because season 2 isn't on Netflix, and I have no idea if it ever will be.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44