The Umbrella Academy – Season 1 Spoiler Free Review

in #tv5 years ago (edited)

The Umbrella Academy.jpg

I know I am late to this party, but I got to admit, the trailers and the reviews didn't impress me. Some of my friends told me it is a must see so I did see it. I mostly decided to watch the show because of Robert Sheehan who is a brilliant underrated actor and he never disappoints. He is brilliant is in this show as well.

The premise of the show is that on October 1, 1989, 43 women who were not pregnant suddenly all gave birth at the same time to children with powers. The eccentric billionaire Reginald Hargreeves adopts seven of these children from all around the world and trains them to save the world. Both their training place and their code name is "The Umbrella Academy". Hargreeves is so cold and bizarre that he does not even name the children. He gives them numbers that signifies their importance. A robot and an intelligent monkey raise the children with the love that they need. Basically a totally fucked up childhood.

At the start of the show only five siblings remain: Luther Hargreeves (played by Tom Hopper also known as Dickon Tarly from Game of Thrones) - Number One, Diego Hargreeves (played by David Castañeda) - Number Two, Allison Hargreeves (Emmy Raver-Lampman) - Number Three, Klaus Hargreeves (played by the brilliant Robert Sheehan) - Number Four. They also have a sister with no powers, Vanya Hargreeves (played by Ellen Page). The five siblings come together as their father mysteriously dies and his death and the funeral brings them together. Then suddenly, number five appears after he has been gone for years and warns them that the world is about to end and they must stop it from happening.

It sounds like your regular superheroes band together to stop the end of the world plot, but it is not. Nothing is regular about the situation, the circumstances and the plot. Although I think that by episode 2 or 3 I figures out who was the cause of the end of the world. The powers that the siblings have are also interesting and very irregular. It is a fun and mostly unpredictable ride.

However, it is also a slow ride. Some episodes fly by, but some drag. Which prevented me from binging the show. I know that character development is important, but there are all sorts of ways to develop your characters and they have to be more interesting than this. These boring conversations and flashback. Especially as the younger cast is not that particularly good as the older one. The acting in the show isn't great either. Ellen Page decided to play her character in the most boring way possible, instead of doing something interesting with it. Luther is stiff and Allison doesn't really work either. Good thing that Klaus is brilliant and so is number five. Another acting M.V.P is Mary J. Blige as Cha-Cha, it is just super fan to watch her.

The ending of the show was pretty cool looking. It doesn't look like a low budget TV show like some shows on Netflix (I'm looking at you Marvel- Netflix).

A cool fact to note that this show is based on a comic written by Gerard Way, previously the lead singer of My Chemical Romance. He also added musically to the show's soundtrack which is pretty cool.

I don't think that it is a must see show. It is not brilliant, but fun and entertaining and if you like everything superheroes like me, you'll enjoy it.

Source image

Please follow me and upvote my posts to help yourself stay up to date with everything that is nerdy and awesome.

Resteems will also be most appreciated.

See you in my next post

Sort:  

I agree- I thought this show was very well done. I have never read the comics so I can't speak to how it relates to the comics but I loved the show and its story

Posted using Partiko Android

I didn't read the comics either. It doesn't seem to change much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64284.72
ETH 2650.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79