The Gifted Episode 1 Review – No Spoilers

in #tv7 years ago

The Gifted.jpg

At last a comic book TV series that delivered on its promise. Although it is very hard to go wrong with mutants.

IMDB’s synopsis states: “A suburban family is forced to go on the run when the children are discovered to possess mutant powers.”

Unlike Marvel’s Inhuman’s, The Gifted doesn’t look cheap. At least in their premiere episode. This episode did have a semi-movie quality to it, helped by the fact that it was directed by the X-MEN man himself – Bryan Singer. The effects were greats, the editing was great, the action was great. It felt very professional.

Obviously, this is FOX so timelines make no sense whatsoever, don’t even try to put things together. The TV show tries to locate itself relativity to the movies, but if you think about it for two seconds it will fall apart. So it is both located and not located in the same timeline as the movies.

It was fun seeing Polaris, Blink and Thunderbird, which are the mutants I recognized.

The Strucker family are original characters to the series. Although with that last name we might find out that they are not so original after all. It’s good to see Stephen Moyer, who plays Reed Strucker, back on the small screen. I haven’t seen him since I stopped watching True Blood in the middle of the show, but he’s a great actor. His character is a lawyer who represents mutants who have harmed humans. Amy Acker, the actress who plays the wife, Caitlin Strucker, is a classical supporting wife and has nothing to do. Too bad, I really liked her in The Cabin in the Woods.

I was pleasantly surprised by the children of the family. Natalie Alyn Lind as Lauren Strucker and Percy Hynes White as Andy Strucker are a refreshing depiction of a brother and sister. They get along, but not too much. They know each other, but not too much. They seemed to be the right amount of teenager stupid. I enjoyed their character more than I thought I will.

This show also pulled out some big guns in this episode, I hope the next one will not be a disappointment in comparison. Sure, they had the low budget versions of a few things, but boy when you do things so originally, you barely remember that the change was probably was for budget reasons.

There were some easter eggs that made me totally geek out. But I’ll let you be surprised.

I give it 8.5/10

This is the trailer for the show, it mostly contains stuff from the first episode:

Watch the first five minutes of the first episode:

Please follow me and upvote my posts to help yourself stay up to date with everything that is nerdy and awesome.

See you in my next post.

Sort:  

Looks nice! Didnt heard about it. Thank you for sharing!

Your very welcome!

Congratulations @readingdanvers! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

"Polaris, Blink and Thunderbird"

WHAT?

There is too much to keep up on in the world, but I thought I had read somewhere this series wasn't even connected to comic book mutant characters, dammit. InHumans was like really really bad, going to have to watch The Gifted now just to wash that taste out.

I am so busy I put inhumans at the bottom of my to watch list, everyone says it so bad, I don't want to watch it.
This show is not connected and connected to both the movies and the comics, it's FOX, their timelines make no sense whatsoever. If you actually try and locate this show with the time traveling stuff they did in Days of Future Past your head will explode.
Polaris, Blink and Thunderbird aren't the main characters which is a bit of shame.
Also there are just way too many comic book shows out there, so I just don't watch them all. Just Marvel and not all of Marvel.

I got about the same habits, if it has a Marvel character at all I will most likely at least give it a shot. DC's best material I am not sure why people consider the best (see: Arrow) Tried watching that three times. Tried Flash once.

If they can get the money to pay their CGI bill, InHumans could do really well if they keep Lockjaw in more scenes. I didn't finish The Gifted last night, but it was unrelated to the show, just had stuff to do.

That is funny about Fox and mutants and the timelines as you are saying. They have such a beautiful universe at their disposal, some could argue that could easily best the MCU/Avengers Universe if Fox would stop f'n around and just let these characters wear their funny spandex outfits instead of putting everyone in leather. Within the little I did see of The Gifted (15 min about so far) I already was just crossing my fingers hoping for a Legion crossover.

I didn't see Legion actually (I know shame on me). But yeah, Fox can do a lot of great things. I don't think it's about the spandex, I think they need a coherent timeline, message and good writers and directors, and right now they are hit or miss. Most or their hits are unrelated standalone. But the timeline is so messed up that they might as well just reboot everything or at least the main X-Men.

I watched the first season of Arrow and it was ok, but not enough for me to continue to season 2. I am somewhere in season 3 of Gotham, it had its moments, until Barbara Gordon. I didn't even try the Flash or Legends of Tomorrow or Supergirl. CW shows are just CW shows, doesn't matter if you put superheroes in them, they are still more CW shows then they are anything else. I can totally see an Arrow and a Supernatural crossover, just because it's a similar vibe (or was in season 1 of Arrow and season 6 of Supernatural).

This show is hitting all the right spots!

I just saw this show today and watched episode 1!
I like the setting of X-men so I like this show too.

However, I never get the chance too watch Inhumans. After watching your comments, maybe it's a good thing I never watch :P

I didn't watch inhumans either. I heard it's really really bad.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60696.11
ETH 3379.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52