"Legion" (Tv Series) and a personal list of the best tv series

in #tv7 years ago (edited)

 

Here we are again with the list of The Best TV Serie Of The Last Years In My Unilateral Opinion ;)

The new entries in TBTSOTLYIMUO (abbreviation of abbreviation: The List) are Legion and Dirk Gently, as far as I remember (the last list I did was months ago).

I have not watched Sense8 season 2 btw.

Legion is a FX tv cable series based on the Marvel comics "Legion". Season 1 premiered on february 2017 and is broadcasted worldwide on Netflix. Season 2 is scheduled for february 2018. 

Basic plot: David Heller (Dan Stevens) was diagnosed with schizophrenia at a young age and is a patient of a mental hospital where he meets the girl of his life and realizes to have strange powers. Two rival organizations  want him and the girl too ("Syd" Barrett - do note the name! - played by Rachel Keller)

But the plot is not so important. What makes the series an amazing show is the visionary and surreal direction, scenery, design, style, irony. The trailer shows pretty well how the 60s style is quoted and rearranged in many part of the show. But there's really nothing nostalgic in it.

Some of the supporting characters are really great: they are perhaps what makes "Legion" so amazing to me (Aubrey Plaza, i.e., is a awesome, crazy friend of the lead role).

I don't remember a tv series so good for the visual design and concept in the last years ("A Series of Unfortunate Events" is perhaps at the same level as for scenery and design, but it is more traditional).

Dance scene Ep 1.

 (source)

 (source)

I will say something about "Dirk Gently's Holistic Detective Agency" in another post (season 2 has been announced for the end of 2017)


And this is The List (just from my point of view of course)

Doctor Who

Star Trek

X Files

Big Bang Theory

Misfits

Les revenents

Supernatural

Ripper Street

Sherlock

Legion

Torchwood

Sense8

Black mirror

Dirk Gently

A Series of Unfortunate Events

Grimm

Penny Dredful

The prayer

Hemlock Grove

The Exorcist 

Westworld

Humans

Stranger Things 


(cover source)

Sort:  

I recently finished Sense8 season 2 and it's just so good. I also made a post about Sense8 yesterday for people who want to figure out whether to watch it or not.

I would also like to recommend you to add "Band of Brothers" to your list. That show kept me hooked from start to finish and it has such a great cast and directing.

From this list, I would recommend you also watch Twin Peaks and Fringe.

already watched. Fringe is not that good for me, and Twin Peaks, ok, a great classic of the '90s :)

Oh my gosh, I really want to watch Legion. Sadly, it's not released on Netflix in the Netherlands. I hate these region differences, like we have to get all the possible spoilers online, before we are allowed to enjoy a show :-(

sorry.
I guess you can find some online streaming website ;)

Yeaaaah I know, but I kind of want to not go the illegal way anymore. They're making it really hard though. It's just not customer friendly at all. It's like they want us to hate them and go for not so legal options :-(

I need to finish out the season of Legion. I just posted his 1st appearance comic not too long ago here https://steemit.com/comics/@cryplectibles/bronze-age-classic-comic-book-the-new-mutants-from-1985 I am a huge fan but around the fourth episode I got lost in other things in life and forgot to go back. In fact I already watched the whole season 3 of Fargo, which was made by the same guy who made Legion (show writer that is, not the creator of the characters themselves). Really good list, a few titles on I still need to watch, like Sense 8 and Misfits.

I started watching Legion but bailed at the second episode. I plan to give it another shot though

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00