Better Call Saul new episodes are awesome but this new release format sucks!

in #tv2 years ago

I guess we have all become spoiled over the past years since Netflix revolutionized the way that we watch TV. In the past if you wanted to binge watch something you would have to make a more active decision to do it such as buy the DVD's or spend a lot of time downloading entire seasons of something that then have the technology and the wherewithal to get it onto a screen (or watch it on a computer I guess.)

These days I have come to expect to get EVERYTHING all at once and obviously this cant possibly happen when series are still being filmed at the same time they are being released.


image.png
src

This year we are on the 6th season and according to the creators AMC, this will be the final season. Unlike other shows that are entering their final season I feel as though BCS could probably go on longer and still maintain its appeal. I also felt this way about Breaking Bad and since this is a spinoff of that show I guess it makes sense that it would function in the same way.

It does drive me a little bit "loco" that they released it in two parts and while I am sure they did tell people about this, I wasn't aware of it when I was watching it and therefore I abruptly got "cut off" with a big cliffhanger.


image.png
src

This isn't the cliffhanger btw, in case anyone is thinking of accusing me of spoilers.

AMC released Better Call Saul season 5 in two parts and they were full year apart in their releases so i guess you could say that this was a lot worse for impatient people like me. Season 6 is being released on the same dates on AMC that it is on Netflix, so I would imagine that Netflix is paying quite a lot of money for this honor.

These days I don't often binge watch anything, especially what airs on Netflix because I think most of their programming is garbage and this is why Netflix is seeing huge downturns in popularity. A lot of people like to blame it on their "going woke" agenda and while I am sure this is part of it for some people, the main reason why I have become decreasingly interested in Netflix is because they just don't have many great shows anymore. How could they possibly with so many competitors popping up?

The two release dates aren't that terrible I guess and I suppose I am lucky that I waited as long as I did to get started on Season 6. Now I only have to wait another couple of weeks before the final "season" ever.

I am a bit disappointed that this series is coming to a close especially since I really feel they could go for another couple of seasons if they really wanted to. At the same time I like it a lot better when series or shows of any sort end on a high note instead of dragging a series out for as long as possible the way that they did with Lost.

Should I watch it?

If you haven't already started watching Better Call Saul I am actually envious of you because just like its predecessor Breaking Bad I believe it to be one of the best series that has ever been made in history. It isn't entirely necessary to have already seen Breaking Bad to enjoy this series, but it certainly enhances the experience. I recommend this series to anyone and am quite disappointed that they are wrapping it up forever by the end of this year.


photodune-6774981-recommended-grunge-red-stamp-xs-643x272.jpg

Sort:  

Let's face it. You watch this show because you loved Breaking Bad and want to recapture it in some way. The more this show recreates Breaking Bad, the better it is. The more it becomes something else, the worse it is. It Season 5 was as almost as good as BB. The rest were slower. At this point, I just want them to finally finish the story.

well I think there is only a few more episodes to go so that day is not far off! And yes, I wouldn't watch this show and neither would anyone else if it weren't for BB. They could probably do several spinoffs of that show and they will all be reasonably succesful. I'd like to see the backstory in the bald-headed dude, Mike. But they'd have to get a younger actor and that would probably ruin the character.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63760.92
ETH 2737.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60