Steemit's Favorite TV Shows! - The Top 11steemCreated with Sketch.

in #tv8 years ago

Thanks for participating. There were a total of 264 samples and 28 participants. In the end, this is enough to have a sample of a Top 11. I hope in the future we can receive more participation and get to Top 25!

You can check the submission thread here.

So, here we go!


#11 - House of Cards



Score: 3.5

I assume this is the US TV show - Netflix's first attempt at world domination. For fans of the show, I highly recommend the excellent UK version too! Of course, Kevin Spacey is what makes this show special.


#10 - Scrubs



Score: 3.7

This one was a bit of a surprise for me, to see it make it this far up! Whatever happened to Zach Braff?


#9 - Seinfeld



Score: 4

Ah, Larry David and Jerry Seinfeld killing it, with a stellar cast. What's not to like? Maybe not as consistent, but at its best Seinfeld was comedy gold.


#9 Tied - Family Guy



Score: 4

Quite surprised to see Family Guy make it in over The Simpsons!


#7 - Fawlty Towers



Score: 4.5

Aha, who could ever not love Basil Fawlty's buffoonish antics? The Germans may be my favourite episode in all of TV.


#6 - Rick and Morty



Score: 4.6

Only two seasons down, Rick and Morty is the newest show on the list. Didn't quite expect it in the Top 10. Bold and funny, this show somehow combines mind boggling thought experiments with hilarious comedy, an sociopath that you can't help loving. This is the insane companion piece to Doctor Who and Back to the Future. Of course, the next seasons could turn out to be turds, but if it keeps it up, this could very well be deserving pick for the Top 10.


#5 - The X-Files



Score: 5

I must admit I have never seen this show beyond a couple of episodes. Must get down to it!


#4 - Doctor Who



Score: 5.6

There are quite a lot of similarities between Ricky and Morty and Doctor Who. While Rick and Morty is the newest show on the list, this is by far the oldest. Granted, I have a feeling most entries actually referenced the 2005 revival, but it all counts anyway.


#3 - Game of Thrones



Score: 6.4

This is the most watched show on the planet today, once you account for piracy. Need I say more?


#2 - Sherlock



Score: 6.5

Two shows for BBC and Steven Moffat in the top 4 - nice! Between these two and Fawlty Towers, I presume a lot of the participants were British. Might have something to do with when I submitted the post!


#1 - Breaking Bad



Score: 7

It's easy to forget that this was a show no one wanted to make, and started as a low budget, experimental show. Who would have thought it would become a global phenomenon?


There you have it folks! The biggest omission for me would be The Wire. Please watch it if you haven't!

All images sourced from Wikimedia.

Sort:  
Loading...

I'm surprised none of my choice made it to the list. JK.

That shows you have distinctive taste :)

Thank you liberosist! That was fun :-)

Thank you very much for your effort and for paying reward to the participants!

Cheers!

Iit is a pity that there were only few participants. I just now found out about this poll

Sorry about that! The post didn't get much visibility. I guess next time a more popular author should do the poll!

Great to see Sherlock made it this far up! I don't think it's to do with British entries... Isn't this show popular in many places? Anyways, it's also awesome to see Scrubs has not been forgotten! :D

Yeah, I guess due to the timing of my post there were many submissions by British people.

Okay, I have ideas about how to spend more time in the coach for the summer ;)

This was a funny contest! Thanks for the organization.

Yes, TV can be a time sink! Be sure you don't spend too much time :)

Don't worry, i like wstching something once in a while, but this stays rare ;)

Ps: and thanks for the reward :)

Everyone starts that way "Ah, I'll just watch an episode or two per day". Then they get sucked in and binge watch 5 at a time ;)

That sounds very me :)

Thank you for posting @liberosist.

Appreciated the opportunity to reflect on these things.

Thank you for the Steem. Quite a lovely surprise.

Cheers.

Thanks for playing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62763.51
ETH 2579.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72