Westworld .. Just some beautiful dialogue about Grief.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #tv7 years ago

When I was young, the movie, Westworld (1973), the futuristic Western, really had an impact on me.
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0070909/?ref_=nv_sr_2

MV5BMWY0NzM5MDAtYTg2NC00MDZjLTgwM2UtZjdiOTEzMjQ4MjU0L2ltYWdlXkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyNTAyODkwOQ@@._V1_.jpg

Every year, it seemed to be replayed.

I watched it again a couple of years ago, and that movie was very well made, for the genre it was.

The futuristic style, of creating a theme park, filled with automatons, doesn't seem too far fetched from today's technological ability.

Also, not too far away, is the threat of; What happens if we lose control of our creation?

With this post, I feel I could go on, and on, and on. So, I will keep on track...

The Westworld TV series, initially put me off. I thought, they would ruin my own perception of the original movie.
You know, sometimes things should just be left alone.

MV5BMTEyODk5NTc2MjNeQTJeQWpwZ15BbWU4MDQ5NTgwOTkx._V1_SY1000_CR0,0,674,1000_AL_.jpg

But seeing that, Ed Harris, was in it, got me thinking that it will probably be good. I always liked his sniper role in, Enemy At The Gates.

Enemy.jpg

And in Westworld, the TV series, he plays a fantastic role again. (Mind you I have only watched 4 episodes, so no spoilers please).

the-man-in-black-westworld-ed-harris.jpg

And one of the producers, Bad Robot, has made alot of content I have enjoyed.

bad-robo-maxresdefault.jpg

Ok, so the meat of my post. The best cleavage actress, Evan Rachel Wood, ... oh wait, I am complimenting her. But for me, the cleavage shows, and it is beautiful, before her other talents show. She plays a robot, that one of the head production crew, is playing with her ability to, Awaken.

MV5BOWI0YWI5OTEtYjkxOC00NTAyLTg5MDctZDkyMDFlZDllNmU3L2ltYWdlL2ltYWdlXkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyNTc3NTEzMDU@._V1_.jpg

Anyway, she identifies that she is suffering from Grief. And the Engineer, Jeffrey Wright, another guy who played a good role in that amazing movie, Source Code, asks her;

MV5BMTc1NDEwNDkxMV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNTI3NDI2MDI@._V1_SY1000_SX1500_AL_.jpg

Dialogue goes like this;

Delores: Everyone I care about is gone...and it hurts.. so badly.
Bernard: I can make that feeling go away if you'd like.

Delores: Why would I want that?
The pain, their loss, it's all I have left of them.
You think the grief will make you smaller inside,
like your heart will collapse in on itself, but it doesn't.
I feel spaces opening up inside of me,
Like a building with rooms that I've never explored.


I'm @jagged

20170222_125847.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63678.85
ETH 2623.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85