Comedians in Cars getting Coffee (Netflix series): One reallly good one, one really bad one

in #tv5 years ago

This series is a go-to for me. It is low commitment, not really about anything in particular and normally spends equal time focusing on an exotic vehicle and a celebrity. The episodes are normally very short as well and since I have a low tolerance threshold for new things that are too long, it works for me.


source

I quite like Jerry Seinfeld but it isn't really important that you do in order to enjoy this series. The combination of cars (that Jerry talks about in the beginning of each episode) is enough to hold my interest but then he meets with a different mostly comedian celebrities and simply goes and has coffee and talks. It takes a celebrity of Jerry's status to pull this off because not many people are going to "pull rank" on him.

Anyway, these past two episodes were a mix of emotions because one episode was just about as dull an experience as I can imagine being on a television followed by one of the best episodes this series has ever had. Because I am negative person lately, we will start with ze bad.

First off: Brian Regan and a Cadillac XLR convertible

03-cars-getting-coffee-brian.nocrop.w710.h2147483647.2x.jpg
source

First off to quote Conor McGregor: "who the foook is this guy?" I've never heard of Brian Regan and after watching this episode I think I know why. There isn't a single moment of his time talking to Jerry where he says anything even remotely interesting or funny. Also, the car that he chose (Jerry normally chooses the car, or so it appears) is a P.O.S. Even Jerry bashes this car in his intro saying "The Cadillac XLR convertible says to your neighbors "I have more money than you, but absolutely no sense""


source
while not from the show, this image of the XLR sitting outside of a trailer-home adds even more credibility to the fact that this car is NOT a good car

While Jerry and Brian spend a lot of the episode laughing hysterically, it must have been something that happened off camera because almost nothing noteworthy happens at all. Who knows, maybe Jerry was handing out pity laughs that day.


Dana Carvey and and Meyers Manx Dune Buggy

Dana is one of my favorite people to go through the halls of Saturday Night Live and for me, was one of the stars during the years that show was funniest and most sought after. He is fantastic at impressions and this episode was the complete opposite of that snooze-fest that had Brian Regan in it (again, who is Brian Regan?)

MV5BNDBmYjMwZmYtYzhhZC00ODUyLTkwMjYtZTQzZmY2MjExZmI5XkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyMTY4MjQ0NzU@._V1_.jpg
source

Taking these two comic geniuses and putting them inside of a tiny car that you have to crawl through the windows to get in/out of was a wonderful situation and Dana delivers on so many fronts going through many of his old impressions such as Clinton, George Bush Sr, Trump, and revisiting Hans and Frans as well as my personal favorite"The Church Lady."

I laughed a lot during this episode and between this one and the one with Dave Chappelle, it is a toss-up for best episode ever for the series.


source
I also learned that I should never get a dune buggy because I am significantly larger than Jerry and look how much trouble he is having

A wonderful low-commitment show that only lasts 20 minutes or less per episode, Comedians in Cars Getting Coffee (not really sure how to capitalize that) is constantly on "my list" inside of Netflix for when I want something short, mostly funny (except for Brian Regan) and makes me really want to go to a coffee shop afterwards.

Sort:  

Never seen it yet, as I am still working my way around Netflix. The problem is finding the good stuff amongst all the junk. Have found some decent things already and sticking to documentary type shows for the moment.

No way! I am totally going to have to watch the Dana Carvey episode. Opportunity Knocks was one of my most favorite movies when I was younger. He really is one of the greatest of all time. I can't imagine how awesome it would be to have them two in the same space together!

I have not seen them all, but the ones I did see were funny. My personal favorite is the one with Steve Harvey. Jerry then went on Steve's talk show and it was hilarious.

Yeah the short format makes it a good option for low-commitment audiences, it's a light content show about nothing and sometimes that's what one is looking for to spend the time

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63686.15
ETH 2727.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59