You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Netflixing: Firefly

in #tv8 years ago

What fascinates me about Firefly, and makes it unique, is that it is the only thing of its kind in HOW ITS FOLLOWING DEVELOPED AFTER JUST ONE SEASON THAT WAS CANCELLED.

I see you did some homework, so I'm guessing you've seen that it has generated one of the biggest TV-show fan bases around FOR what it was, and the fact that it ran for 14 stinking episodes and then was gone.

More interesting, I know that thousands and thousands have since become HUGE fans of it in the decade following the Serenity movie. And it still acquires new, major fans to this day.

I'm super freaking picky about TV and I just don't really watch it in general. I didn't have any expectation of loving Firefly, and it was oddly magical in that it was the first time a TV show--especially of such an odd genre combination--had made me truly feel like the characters HAD TO BE REAL.

I found would MISS them, I still miss them, like dear old friends I understand and wish I could have a smoke or scotch with while shooting shit in the desert with old revolvers. LOL

I watched episode one without much intrigue and was sobbing by the end of the show thinking, WTF? I don't cry at TV shows, WHY DID THIS HAVE TO END?

It was a lesson in TV humility, I dropped my snobbiness down a notch that day. :)

I loved all the scripting, I loved the acting even if it wasn't perfect, and the story captured me so well that my heavily-aesthetics-focused brain didn't seem to give a damn about camera work or even notice (another weird anomaly for me).

I am totally a shameless practically-cult-fan, but I have not found a show since Firefly that fires on all cylinders quite the same way.

I am the delusional dreamer hoping for any collaboration to return with the members of the crew of Serenity, for sure.

Firefly is not the greatest thing on earth to most, but there's something interesting about how big they've grown compared to when the show was actually on, and how fast the following still grows...

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing!

I was purposely saving this review for Thursday, since that is (oddly enough) the busiest day for Steemit usage.

I can't tell you how grateful I am that my review inspired you to comment. The comments are very important to me, as otherwise I often feel like I am screaming into an empty room. That you left such a detailed comment leads me to believe that my post engaged you. And that pleases me more than anything.

I am glad that you think I did my homework. I do my best to feign competence.

I am also pleased to hear that you may have disagreed with parts of my assessment. When people disagree with my reviews but still feel inspired to reply, it lets me know that people take the writing seriously and that it has an impact.

I enjoyed Firefly and am glad to find that is has fans here on Steemit. I plan to do a separate review for Serenity soon.

Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44