You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Netflixing: Robotech

in #tv7 years ago

I loved Robotech growing up and it's still special to this day. I applaud anybody watching it. Highly recommended.

What bugs me is the version on Netflix has a remastered soundtrack. Meaning they replaced all the sound effects going back to the original Japanese versions of the cartoons with some rubbish effects.

Definitely a step back. I have the first release of the series complete DVD set. It has the original and in my opinion superior soundtrack. Please try to find the series in it's originally aired form to find out what I mean.

Sort:  

Fascinating. I wonder how the Netflix version managed to have a different soundtrack. This is a very old show, and it doesn't seem like people would keep the original audio tracks lying around so that they could be remixed down the road.

In any case, I shall keep that under consideration. Perhaps I should start by finding some YouTube clips with the original soundtrack to get an idea of what I've been missing.

It's probably a fan nitpick on my part. I just think the original sounds have more character to them.
The updated soundtrack came along in a later DVD edition which cleaned up the film transfers and had the sound remix. So the visuals pop better but at the expense of the sounds being changed. Music and voice acting are still the same.

Got it. Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70434.55
ETH 3761.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84