Unions and Intersections in Mathematics! Applications to insurance!

in #tutorials7 years ago

Hello All!

This is an Algebra lesson, but it can be applied to Statistics in a big way! So, though I would give you an old math lesson everyone should understand. I will explain more on how you can use this in Statistics as well!

Notation

  • P() means the probability of
  • A and B are events that happen
  • ∩-intersection
  • ∪-union

Example

An insurance company has car and motorcycle insurance. 85% of customers have car insurance and 3% of customers have both car and motorcycle insurance. How many people have motorcycle insurance?
It's best to draw a venn diagram for explaining these types of problems, but there is an equation for it...

P(A∪B)=P(A)+P(B)-P(A∩B) (All this says is that the probability of A or B happening is equal to the probability of A plus the probability of B minus the probability of both happening)

Here is our 1st venn diagram:

Untitled.png

Here is our solution venn diagram after some thought and work:
Untitled2.png

Again, the mathematical equation works if you can read it. We see that the answer is 18%.

It is a good common problem to know! Let me know if you have questions. Thank you for your support Steemers! Enjoy learning and teach your kids.

LogoGif1.gif

Sort:  

@hansenator,
Are you a mathematician? I just feel you are! Actually I like maths but I think maths don't like me lol :D
Great work you have done! Your posts are really good lessons to students of universities. I just feel that! Adding a true value to the community = your posts!
Really appreciate the effort you are putting here. And please keep it up!

Cheers~

I have my Masters in Math, don't know if that qualifies as a mathematician. I'd like to think I am. Thank you! I appreciate the support my friend! Cheers!

Hi, I'd like to put a link to this post in the next math-trail magazine. Hope that's OK with you!

!-=o0o=-!

To follow curated math content follow @math-trail.
If you wish @math-trail to follow you then read this article.
Click here for Mathematics forum on chainBB

Thank you @math-trail. It's an honor to be apart of the magazine!

Amazing blog.
Upvoted and follo

Thank you joe28! Haha. I'm following you already it seems.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58254.01
ETH 2971.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89