Getting the most out of curation 101

in #tutorial8 years ago (edited)

Did you know that upvoting the right people may earn you decent money, if you know who to upvote.

Upvoting isn't a science, as the power of curation has been around for decades, even centuries. I had a talk the other day with a friend of mine, who told me, that press houses take about 95% or even more in some cases in curation rewards from the author. I was amazed by that number, meaning that curation is rewarded not only in steemit, but actually more so in real life. Regardless if that number sounds unfair to you or not, it's required in order for the press houses to keep the money flowing in, not out.

You don't have to be a genius, mastermind, wizard to predict the future. Just make your decisions based on past data.

You've got several high priority people to look out for. Just look at the front page, do you think that the people who are there, are there because they didn't want to get there? Mostly successful people are successful, because they are supported by successful people.

I'm still not sure on how do I earn the most on my curation

We're going to use a website called steemwatch so go ahead and make an account there.
After that follow theese steps to successful curation:

  • First of all, you should get a list of people to upvote, I made a simple list composing of 103 people for you that's found here: http://pastebin.com/xkDUGM6P

  • Add all of the people there, to your events list like so:

  • Go to event stream and wait for your curation rewards to roll in. The faster you upvote, the more you earn.

  • add wang, rainman and itsascam or any other bots, that upvote content on your list.

This guide is only for people wanting to earn curation rewards. ALL OF THE PEOPLE ON THAT LIST PRODUCE QUALITY CONTENT AND SHOULD BE REWARDED REGARDLESS!

If you have any other good voting bots to follow, please let me know below.

This guide works really well if you have two or more monitors!

Sort:  

this is the BEST post I have seen in the past 10 days, great info and told to maximize PROFIT

You're squeezing the best profits out of your account this way.

One thing to remember. In order to get any curation you must already have decent steem power. People like me might get lucky once and awhile and get .001-.005

You're going to have higher odds of hitting that .001-.005

People have to work with, what they've got.

Not really. If I vote on a good thread it only takes one person with decent power to knock me to 0.000. That means any thread that makes good money I get nothing out of. I have to get lucky and be one of the few people to vote on a thread with one higher level person. Something like a $10 thread with half a dozen votes where I voted at the optimal time.

Just try out my list. There are 50+ people there, who have $100+ each post. You'll get notified as soon as they post.

I follow @rotaltiffany and she has them setup already so I get the notifications on steemstats too.

The 0.001 SP i made is on a post that i voted and got $1000+ i dont know if $100 would do any better. But your post is really good and qualitive. Just dosent work for everyone.

This is the truth new members could only get 0.001 SP for voting a post thats get in the trending. So ill just use my vote on the once i really like and dont bother on curation reward for now and see if this would change in the future

How much is decent steem power?

Hi, I have a question about setting up notifications on steemwatch. It appears that I need to have a steem slack account, but as I found with a little research, the steem slack appears to be inactive. Is there an alternative? Am I missing something obvious?

You don't need to get your notifications on slack. Use the Event Stream to get updates.

oh, I see! thank you. didn't click enough buttons before asking, sorry if I wasted your time at all

I have way too much time. Don't worry about it.

Another question, do you have a list of bots and authors separated? And if not could you possibly make one?

the list is for people to upvote only. I'd suggest you add wang, rainman and itsascam. As bots.(only wang is a bot others are just whales, and it's good to know who are the whales upvoting)

Thank you I will do this! I spend a lot of time curating when I have writers block.

I feel quite proud bieng on the list LOL
Thank you!
Great post!

This is really useful. Thank you for sharing. Will start making use of it immediately.

Simply Great Information and Presentation

This tutorial is from the era, where the follow button didn't work. Now with the functionality of the follow button this guide may possibly be outdated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59005.68
ETH 2516.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48