You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How To Make Your Own Herbal Deodorant

in #tutorial6 years ago

Nice! I love the idea of steeping the herbs to get the deodorant properties from them! I had not thought of that. I have made homemade deodorant for years now, and it is GREAT for everyone, except me. Well, it DOES deodorize me, BUT it irritates my pits and leaves my skin itchy and sometimes painful. I think I may be sensitive to the baking soda.... Not sure.
I actually just tried making a spray deodorant with totally different ingredients, and if it works better, Ill have to share my recipe. :D
So far so good with the deodorizing, but my skin is still irritated from the other deodorant. Im hoping that this spray will clear that up and help sooth and heal the skin. We shall see...

Sort:  

Oh that sounds nice! Yes, I try to sneak herbs into everything..infusing them in oil seems to be the easiest way to do so. I always had an issue with sensitivity and irritation even with the first few recipes I tried. This one, I believe because of the soothing Shea Butter has fixed all of that. I know that some people are sensitive to baking soda though and should avoid it. If you ever wanna give it a try just replace the baking soda with clay or DE. Thanks so much for your support!

Oh, I have lots of DE, I have never thought to try it in my deodorant! Ill have to try next time.
I generally use zinc powder instead of cornstarch, (I didnt have arrowroot powder on hand one day, and just gave it a try, since I had zinc to make sunscreen). It works great in deodorant, by the way. :D
Thanks for the tip!

I love the zinc idea! DE is versatile...I have had great success with it in this recipe.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67044.89
ETH 3251.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64