How to draw BOB MARLEY....tutorial with tips and techniques

in #tutorial7 years ago

In todays tutorial I go through the process of how I draw the legend Bob Marley. I haven't been doing portraits for very long but I get better and better. In this drawing I used a little bit different techniques than what I use to, and that is always challenging.

U5drJxmF9CHJiLUFF7jtg2HzwuysdW5_1680x8400.jpg



As usual I start to make a sketch of Bob Marleys face and hair. This time I'm not that precise, I want to "build up" the drawing if you could say that. I try to shape it from a light base shade and build up the darker parts. In recent tutorials I've showed you when I start with the dark or black parts first.

3fqWiHR.jpg

As you can see below I start to draw the basic details like hair, beard, nose eyes and mouth. I take a good time for these parts so that I don't missplace them, It would not be fun to realise that when I'm done. I use a graphite pen like HB or 2B for this. When I'm satisfied I start with the shading.

U5dt1F8bK5txckxht9VqoWQt77kvRcg_1680x8400.jpg

For the shading I use 2B graphite pen in the beginning. Maybe you can see that I try to get a Base tone in his face and the hadows are just roughly drawn. I also draw his eyes more precise and some othe details. I don't draw one peice at a time this time. I draw a little bit everywhere, a short moment on every part I'm drawing.

U5dqoZoCEWdtS4rZVKfKoiSFwMQJu5c_1680x8400.jpg

I'm shading layer by layer until it gets darker on the spots I want. I also use a mechanich stift pen 0,5 mm to fill in pecific details. A mechanic pen is very usefull in many types of drawing. It is always sharp and you can draw very precise details with it.

U5dt1Jon2fpRWtUaM2XE8LAq6s95VxH_1680x8400.jpg

When the shading is done and the details is good I start with the background of a overview over a city. The background is vary difuse in the original photo so I draw it all by freehand and use my imagination, inspired of the original. When the background is done I go over the portrait one more time and I look at the drawing and Photo many times to see if I'm satisfied.

And the Result you can see below :)

U5drJxmF9CHJiLUFF7jtg2HzwuysdW5_1680x8400.jpg

I hope this post was helpful... Feel free to upvote and resteem this post and don't forget to follow me @realitycartoon


Sort:  

nice drawing advice.
thank you for this post
upvotetoupvote
Peace

Thank you :) I will have a look at your posts

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55350.85
ETH 2319.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33