0.5mm Precision Solder Pencil... or Got Lead?

in #tutorial7 years ago

0.5mm Precision Solder Pencil... or Got Lead?

Good afternoon all Makers, Tinkers, and Hackers. This is going to be a quick little tip to help you out with thin gauge solder. And another idea that others profited off of. you will see that my instructable has been forwarded to this post. unfortunately, when Lifehacker picked it up I cant redirect their link. So I assure you that this is not a repost but the OP fixing where it should have been in the first place

I like thin solder as it is easier to work within tight spaces, but alas I have been given large hands. So I was thinking up a solution to keep solder close to my workpiece, with a bit more dexterity than a bear knitting with soggy noodles. I was hoping that there was a more rigid way to hold solder but still allow the fine precision of the thinner gauges and
figured all would be lost until one day...

I was writing in my design notebook with a fine 0.5mm Mechanical pencil, thinking about glorious puns. Just then while hoping for the mother of all Dad jokes, and I pondered if lead would feed through my pencil... I bet Amazon sells 0.5mm flux solder... Low and behold they do, oh and I need a vise and some water filters. I better write
this down. Focus Mo. Have I mentioned the ADD? SQUIRREL!!!

Step 1 Acquire stuff

A roll of 0.5mm solder in the composition of your choosing.
A .5mm mechanical pencil with a removable eraser. Preferably a side click.

Step 2 Prep the pencil

Remove the eraser from the back of the pencil and remove the graphite "lead" saving for your other pencils. Click the feed mechanism to ensure
that there is no more graphite installed in the pencil

Step 3 Assembly

Straighten about 4 inches of solder and insert it into the rear of the pencil, whilst activating the feed mechanism so that the solder will start feeding from the metal tip.

Example of use, click the pencil till the stuff comes out the end.

Step 4, ????

Step 5 start soldering and profit!!!

While the back actuating feed pencil worked properly, I like the ease of the side actuating pencil I can just click a couple times and keep soldiering on. The rear actuating pencils with a twist-up eraser are the only pencil that did not work well for me. I found the barrel is too short to hold properly, and that I could not get a decent purchase with my big thumbs.

Yep, it is really that easy, Pull the Eraser, Jam in the same diameter solder and let er click. Obligatory action shot of soldering a bank of jumper pins.

Hope you enjoyed this little life hack and keep on tinkering. I have found solder in 0.7 and 0.9 so if you like slightly larger diameter solder there is a pencil for you.

Now I just need to make a spool holder.... get a MIG welder... build another 3D printer... hey is that a SQUIRREL!!!

Disclaimer

And another idea that others profited off of without compensating the OP. you will see that my instructable has been forwarded to this post. unfortunately, when Lifehacker picked it up I cant redirect their link. So I assure you that this is not a repost but the OP placing it on a community that appreciates content creators.

Proof of OC
https://www.instructables.com/id/05mm-Precision-Solder-Dispenser-or-Solder-Doodling/

Thank you
MoTinkerGnome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62956.16
ETH 2588.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74