Sort:  

Got it working with the master key... seems like a really foolish thing to require.

Since you passed posting as third argument, it should have worked. Are you sure you weren't passing public posting key?

100% sure, I use my keys correctly all the time. It only works with master as far as I can tell.

In fact I just logged out and logged back in with the posting key I was using just to make sure.

Probably a bug then. Steem api works with posting key.

apparently I have to use .fromString():

var key = dsteem.PrivateKey.fromString('posting-key-goes-here')

This is your public posting key: STM7KtxFtRj4jXcvmvbifcAzh1rXnBWJiGuTeZAyWnKBKBoZerT1G

yeah all private keys start with a 5. master password starts with a P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 60313.79
ETH 2889.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47