How To Mine DGB (Step by Step Tutorial with all needed commands)

in #tutorial7 years ago

DigiByte has one of the fastest transaction time, and it is right now fairly cheap, in last three weeks it had a steady rise in price(it got tripled in price), and I myself am holding some of it for long term investment, meanwhile I try to do some mining as a mean to support the project, it is very easy to set up the miner app on your OS which is Ubuntu 16.04 in my tutorial
Learn more about DigiByte


Download cpuminer Source code from here
Create a folder(like dgb), move the tar file into it, uncompress it with tar command>

mkdir dgb
mv cpuminer-multi-1.3.1-multi.tar.gz dgb
cd dgb
tar zxf cpuminer-multi-1.3.1-multi.tar.gz
cd cpuminer-multi-1.3.1-multi/

Now you need to install some prerequisites, just run this command(both lines are together and in one command):

apt-get install automake autoconf pkg-config libcurl4-openssl-dev libjansson-dev libssl-dev libgmp-dev make g++

Note that if you are not the root user, you need to use 'sudo' at the begining for installing packages and other administration tasks

1.JPG

now you are ready to build from your source by running build.sh script:

sudo ./build.sh

2.JPG

3.JPG

You are done with building your miner, now you need to register in a pool to start mining DGB

I currently am using dgb.miningfield.com, go to this site, create a user like any other site

After logging in to your mining pool you need to create at least one worker, you also can find servers' addresses and their difficulties in dashboard

4.JPG

adding worker

Capture.JPG

DONE!

now you are good to go, just run following command(change my info with yours in user and password parts nad -t is for the number of threads for minig):

./cpuminer -a skein -o stratum+tcp://eu.miningfield.com:3397 -u user.worker3 -p password -t 4

Thank you

@meysam

Sort:  

great stuff i will try it

Hi meysam,
Could you please also show us how to do a gpu mining on DGB? Thank you.

Hi @roc
Sure, I will, right now I am in Dubai for Gisec exebition and a bit busy, But I am gonna do it ASAP( when I get home)

Hi @meysam, thank you for your reply. I have another question. I am planning to use bfgminer instead of cpuminer. Can I use the code like this? (Sorry, I am new to mining)
./bfgminer -a skein -o stratum+tcp://eu.miningfield.com:3397 -u user.worker3 -p password -t 4

(Sorry, I am new to mining)

that is OK, I would be happy if I can help
I am not sure about ' -a skein' part, but the rest of command is fine.
I don't think bfgminer work with skein algorithm(not sure)
but in general you can set the algorithm like this: '--scrypt'
if you still have problemwith it after trying this, let me know , I will go through it

I think you are right. I just wonder if the mining pool like digihash.co is a good place to begin with or not. Did you ever use them?

no , I have not, I am using dgb.dgb.miningfield.com and I am quite happy with it

What kind of specs does the miner need to work? How much do you think a miner will earn?

https://whattomine.com/coins/112-dgb-groestl

According to this, his 1.3 MH/s will generate 0.000373 BTC/day.

Normally I Mine in 5 MH/s

The tutorial is for cpu mining, and it works on different OSes( this one is for Linux of course), mining is not that profitable these days(by using PCs and hand made rigs, I roughly make 0.5 $ a day by mining DGB), and as I said I do it to support the project, plus it is easy to mine DGB right now , and the price will go higher, in long run it is going to be profitable hopefully

nice might take a look at it. thanks.

Hi Therer,

Thanks for a great post, I am new to ubantu dont know much. can you please send me the command for to Download cpuminer Source code from github.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64768.36
ETH 3436.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51