25% CPU usage while you're AFK

in #tutorial6 years ago

The problem

Have you ever listened to your computer while it's idle? Do it and you might notice that the CPU fan is spinning faster than it should, you might even notice that there's a significant amount of heat is generated by your computer while it's idle.
Catching the culprit is not that easy because as soon as you touch the mouse or keyboard the process stops and your computer would go back to normal idle. is it a virus or somebody mining with your computer?
Don't worry, usually neither is the case. spoiler alert, the chances is: it's windows update.

I do leave my computer on pretty much 24/7 and today I noticed this problem, checked for viruses, it was clean, after half a day playing peekaboo with the processes I found out it's almost always 25% of my CPU power that is used by "svchost .exe", then hunting down which service is doing this started, each "svchost.exe" process hosts specific tasks and you can right click on each and choose "go to service(s)" to see which service is using it but this one never shows itself when the monitor is on.

The solution

through a long Excruciating process of trial and error, I've finally found out that it's windows update and disabling the service fixed the problem, here's how you do it in few easy to follow pictures.

The take away

I know there's tons of people out there who would say: disabling windows update is a security risk, well I agree, but I know what I'm doing, I'm careful, and I expect my computer ask me before doing such a thing and waste a day of my time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62795.57
ETH 2581.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74