#TUTORIAL - HOW TO WEAVE PUSO OR HANGING RICE

in #tutorial6 years ago

Hello Steemians,

From all of us from the Visayas
Island especially Cebuanos knows
what is puso or hanging rice. But
those who are from Luzon or other countries, puso or hanging rice is a cooked rice pouch weave from tender coconut fronds which handy, biodegradable of handling cooked rice. For it is small, you can carry around, easy to eat and
longer spoilage time. A Filipino
creativity in food or cooked rice
packaging and cheapIMG_20180330_111954_20180401011842885.jpg

When you roam around Cebu, you can notice in every side of the street cart vendors sell puso
or hanging rice in bundles paired
with siomai, fried chicken, smoked fish and best with
barbeques. Also in beach resorts
and seafood restaurants.

This is where I got my inspiration
as I wrote my poem(Balak) turn into song, "Pag uli ko sa Cebu".

IMG_20180330_120518.jpg

On the first stanza:

Pag uli ko sa Cebu - When I went home to Cebu
Una Kong gipangita - The first food I long for is
Sikwate'g puto - Hot Choco(pure cacao) and Coco sticky rice

pixlr_20180402120534499.jpg
IMG_20171103_160814.jpg
IMG_20171103_160938.jpg
Guso(carrageenan) ug Lato(Arosep) - Seaweeds
Paresan ug puso - paired with hanging rice
Puerteng kaon nako - I enjoy eating
Sa Pungko - pungko - at a side street eatery

I google search found out that there 6 puso designs but commercially "Kinasing" diamond shape and "Binaki" frog like form is the easiest to weave.

When I was 13 yrs old, we lived in Talisay Municipality now a City.
We were surrounded with Lechon Entrepreneurs which produced puso, too. On weekends most of my friends (barkadas) gathered around on the porch while chatting(tsimisan) their hands were busy weaving the kasing form. That's how I learned to weave puso. I practiced and practiced till Perfect! Until now I can not forget how to weave "Kinasing " form.

View this...

I interviewed one of the Puso or Hanging Rice producer and seller
here inv Lapu- lapu City Market (Mercado) their Weaver can weave 1000pcs daily kasing or binaki form small size. The fastest one have even tried weaving 2000pcs a day.

In one of my food trip taste, I tasted Carcar City's Puso big size
form sooo Yummy! Smells good!
2pcs paired with crispy skin lechon belly, stomach full! BUSOG!
pixlr.jpg

Thanks for dropping by...

Manifesting Abundance!

received_2366186320073674.gif

#cebu
#filipina
#crafting
#travel
#photography

Sort:  

I ate them always whenever I had lunch at Carbon Market from our school in Recoletos.. I 've had happy memories spending my one year school there.

Bitaw maoy daling mabaon..@mers

wow,i always puso at the street, because i usually pungko-pungko

Mao gyud, kadalasan now kay standing position na hahaha lalo sa may School side...@sorenkierkegaard

I always love to eat puso. It's very convenient to eat even without spoon and fork. Thanks for teaching us how to weave the puso. Good job, Judy 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60164.54
ETH 2420.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43