You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Run_ don't walk from "THE BLOB"

in #tutorial6 years ago

Are you certain that this was for a X230 and not a X220 or their 14 inch equivalents? Because my X230 has two separate chips for the bios where one is 4 Mb and the other 8 Mb, so 12 Mb won't work with my raspberry pi clamped method. I'm pretty sure just about all X230s have those separate ICs.

After you've flashed a modded bios with the option set to enable bios updates, you can then run flashrom from the X230 itself (without the Raspberry PI) and then you should just use a single 12 Mb bios file. The X230 itself apparently sees the two separate ICs as a single 12Mb one.

I probably should have put that at the end. Then again I've never tested that method and everything I've posted in the tutorial is copy pasted or are screenshots of the stuff I had actually running, so I was sure it worked before posting.

NB
While this tutorial helps mitigating Lenovo bios shenanigans and Intel-ME backdoor BS this will NOT help against SPECTRE/MELTDOWN. So make sure you take steps against those, because incredibly they are probably even worse, because of how apparently easy they are to exploit even by a simple javascript on a website.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65826.04
ETH 3521.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49