How to 'Moon' Your Craft - A Self-Improvement Guide

in #tutorial7 years ago


"Let's ride this rocket to the moon!" | Image Source

The term moon is very common in the cryptospace. We even read that always here in Steemit. The term refers to prices soaring up and people getting good gains from it (hooray cash!). Recently BTC(bitcoin) mooned again; from prices hovering around $4000 to $5700 (as of time of writing). That's good news, but right now, I'm rooting for Steem to moon as well (please do, please do), but usually the pattern is: BTC up = ALTS down. May have to wait till after the forks before Steem does better (hopefully not and it just moons without a care for BTC or any other factors lol).


B-MO Coins ICO! | Image Source

No, sorry, this post isn't about trading and stuff. Sorry for getting off the track. It's still connected though. I've recently read this article: 8 Tips for Improving Your Drawing Skills. I would like to share my thoughts on it here for you guys. No, this isn't copy+paste - not plagiarizing - I only used it as reference but I will try to provide more detail and depth into my own post. I won't isolate my discussion with art only - that's why I made "How to Moon Your Craft" the title of my post. So, if you're ready, just scroll down further and be amazingly bored.



"I have crafted purple fart!", said Bonnie, not! | Image Source

What is a "Craft"?

According to Google's omnibar (aka Search):

It is an activity involving skill in making things by hand.

So, we take those keywords in:

  • Involving skill.
  • Making things.
  • By hand.

Let's see what we make out of it:


We have killing & looting skills, beware! | Image Source

Involvement of Skills

A skill is your ability to do something well. It has different levels though, based on the output of your work: Good, Better, & Best. You can't say it's a skill if it's bad or lower, that already means that you lack skill.

To have skills - you need to have a subject and be good at it: e.g cooking delicious food, painting good portraits. It's not a skill if it's mediocre, subpar, outright trash (sorry for being harsh, take it as constructive criticism).


Making Bacon Pancakes! Bacon Pancaaakes! | Image Source

Making Things

It's not a craft if you don't use it to make things. What's the purpose of having the skill to cook good food if you don't actually cook good food?


What hands? | Image Source

Using Your Hands

This doesn't necessarily mean you will have to make everything using your hands alone. This just means you need to have the skill to create something with your 'self' or an extension of yourself. If you teach someone to cook good food and they did - their food is not your craft, it's theirs. You craft there was 'teaching'.

You can make it by hand, with your voice, your feet maybe, etc - anything that is you and acts as an extension of your own self.


Improving Your Craft

Simple, get a jetpack - attach it to whatever you've created, start the gas and wait for it to reach Mars! (A better target than the moon if you ask me). Just kidding, improving your craft isn't a simple feat to take on. You will need tons of positive traits to get things done.


Choose a Sword for Your Battles! | Image Source

You need to equip yourselves with the proper weapons and make sure they are of top murderous quality (just kidding - murderous intents aren't allowed in here!).

1. Create Something. Create Something. Create Something. You get the idea.

Practicing leads to improving. Getting better will not come unless you engage to attempt your craft always. The more you do your craft, you’ll become more confident.

It's true that practice makes perfect but it does take more than a lifetime, so for this one don't strive for perfection. Strive for improvements. Create something now, create something better tomorrow, repeat. You'll also get the hang of it the more you make it.

2. Look for inspiration.

Whether it's simple creation or a meticulously one, learning a lot from looking at the work of others helps a lot. Ask yourself how they did it and learn.

THIS PART IS STILL FOR EDITING

3. Craft from crafts.

This may sound weird, or not, this means copying from existing work of others. Learn from the masters by copying them. Really. They won’t mind (if they're long dead).

THIS PART IS STILL FOR EDITING

4. Craft from imagination.

For most people, it’s easier to reproduce an image that’s already two-dimensional or from imagination than reproduce an actual object, person or environment.

THIS PART IS STILL FOR EDITING

5. Craft from real life experience.

If you’re just starting out, pick simple themes and work your way up to complex ones, get them from memory. Go ahead and try making crafts out of your everyday experiences.

THIS PART IS STILL FOR EDITING

6. Enroll in a class. Get lessons.

A class will keep you accountable. A teacher will correct your weaknesses. Watching others make they're craft is immensely beneficial for building your own observational skills. Where do you find classes? Check your local university extensions, community adult schools, YMCAs or community colleges. Another source are local art supply stores, where artists post notices of drawing meet-ups, uninstructed sessions with models, or private instruction.

The reason why I didn't enroll in an art class/course is because I will be required to draw (which is my craft). I was too lazy and I didn't know about all these motivational stuff so it was kind of a miss for my part. If I will have the chance then I will enroll in one and hone my skills and I'm sure I'll amaze you all with it. Just look at the successful Steemians here that focuses on their crafts (mostly art, but there are some that are for photography, music, & even programming), they're doing really great. They do it with consistency and class! Maybe we can even start classes here in Steemit (would be a nice project in my opinion).

7. Keep a journal of your crafts.

This means, 'keep it with you', open it up always and work at filling it till it overflows. It serves as a reminder to make your craft. Join the ranks of Moleskine or Field Notes afficiandos, or simply pick up a sketchbook at your office or art supply store.

THIS PART IS STILL FOR EDITING

8. Be Intentional.

This is the hardest thing to do, because if you want to improve at anything, you must decide to do it. You need to make a commitment and even schedule regular time in your week or your day to pursue your craft. In order to become better at it, you need to make a habit of it.

I didn't change this part from the reference because it's already relevant. I just needed to edit all the 'drawing only' related words to make it cater to a wider subject that involves creativity. This is 100% true. The only way improve significantly is to give time to it and focus. Give it your all, in all cases. You have to treat your ability to craft as natural as breathing.

As I've mentioned earlier - it's a craft because you make it with your self or extensions of your self. Doing this will make your craft an extension of your soul. Sing as you breathe. Draw as you see. Sculpt as you walk; and so on.


Oh, I love information overload! | Image Source


I was only able to provide my insights to those 8 points (similar to the website I cited) but I'm pretty sure there are more! Maybe 2 more main points, or 5, or even a hundred (if you have a really wild imagination and maybe a PhD).


Isn't it awesome? | Image Source

I find it amazing how I'm able to learn these things. I should do this stuff more - especially in my idle time. Not only do I expand my knowledge, I'm also able to share it to others. You never know who you can touch with your words, who you can educate with your thoughts, and whose life you may change (if you're able to say something meaningful that is). I think I'm suited for teaching - #steemiteducation tag here I come! Just kidding, when I was in High School - we did practice teaching and all I did was sit at the back and pretend the world didn't exist or something like that.


Wasn't this about craft? | Image Source

Hooray! You have reached the end of this super long blog post. I gather you've read all through it, enough to learn a thing or two. Congratulations to you! I wanted to give out certificates of completion but I'm out of parchment paper and ink - that reminds me, I don't even have a printer to begin with. Anyways, I hope you enjoyed the Adventure Time graphics and I really appreciate the time you wasted reading my post, I hate to be pessimistic but if you think this is useful, then you're completely wrong. This blog post is only useful if you put heart into learning it. Till next time!


Maraming Salamat!

Thank you so much!

3333333333.jpg

Sort:  

Great piece dev!

Thanks @precise - it still lacks some parts but I felt I should post it already haha. I'm too bored at the office and this happens - I was going to read manga but I got inspired to do these kinds of posts. Check out @steemitph.

Nice post Kbayan @deveerei

Thanks, may parts na kulang pa sa insights - wala pa maisip e.

meep

meep

Oh hi meep - been long. How are you? I'm sure you're 'meep'.

Meep!

Nice share! I only have one thing in mind during the time I was reading this post - maybe this was the certain craft that I want to enhance.

Thanks for reading @enjieneer!

I agree, steem should moon after fork

Cool. Hopefully.

Congratulations @deveerei! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Sana nga tumaas BTC taas din Steem. :D
Yes, we can learn from sharing our crafts. :)

Hopefully. Thanks sa comment!

Sir Dev learning lots from this post. Have no talent in drawing, painting, or digital art. I guess my craft is different. I love the photos and gifs from Adventure Time. @dandalion and I love watching that with our kids.

I tried to make the 'craft' word be as broad so that it can cover anything that a person can create - not limited to material things. It's pretty hard though. :D Thanks! I like that show so much. It's not a simple cartoon anymore - it has depth.

wow The best to :) sarap tlaga mag basa ng mga gantong post. marami ka na matututunan maiinspired ka pa lalo. thanks d2 sir @deveerei

Maraming salamat sir @ruah! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59238.58
ETH 3176.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45