HOW TO SERVICE YOUR CAR - VIDEO TUTORIAL - And the start of my Voluteerist actions

in #tutorial6 years ago (edited)

I have been a qualified mechanic for the past 20-years and have recently tried to go "self-employed". This was all going well and business was ticking along nicely. Then some curtain twitching busy-body decided to complain that I was running a business from my home. 2 cars a week is hardly like having a production plant on your doorstep and I work very respectfully so this came as a total surprise to me. The council got involved and informed me that a neighbour had complained(The lady even said it was a petty complaint, but had to follow it up). I was told that I had to stop using my own driveway, but ironically, I could move any car onto the road out-side of my property and work there without breaking any rules...
(Maybe my next customer breaks down in-front of a certain busy-bodies driveway)

Mu Hu Ha Ha!

But I am not a vengeful person and I like to find solutions rather than dwell on the problem itself. I have come to the conclusion that I may have to return to a 9-5 job with all the caveats of weekend shifts and unpaid overtime. I am not one to live in normal society and the construct of it makes my skin crawl so I assume my next employer will have a handful when he tries to control my social life. For this reason I feel it is always good to have a "plan B" and this is what I have done. I enjoy helping others out and I have found it hard to charge the "going rate" to my own customers as I know these prices are dishonest and highly inflated. A garage will normally add anything between 50%-500% as a mark up on any parts they supply you with and they are just a middle man and they have just charged you a fortune for making 1 phone-call to a parts company who have charged them the real price, which is a fraction of what you will pay. For my business to be sustainable and for me to afford today's living costs, I too have to jump on this immoral gravy train in order to survive. Well fuck that Jack! I am not going to perpetuate this society of cannibalistic buggery and greed.

My solution

I have decided to work on my drive but only on a voluntary basis. I will be charging NOTHING FOR MY LABOUR and the only cost to the customer will be for the parts, which they will get at "trade price" due to my connections in the parts industry(20 year experience has many benefits). I will be posting all my jobs on steemit and when Dtube sorts out it archive issues, I will use them to record my work. For now I have to use YouTube and I hope my videos can be of use to the steemit community. It would also be nice to recoup some of my lost earning through gaining your support for this project.

Here is my video from a job I did yesterday that shows how to service your car/van/truck

Part 1

Part 2

banner long 1.jpg

Screenshot-2018-3-21  article61.pngPTYAY

Rebel Dan

Sort:  

Really cool man. I like that your trying to do your own thing. I can't stand having a boss either. Need to be my own man even if I have to struggle a bit.

Hi buddy. Yeah a struggle is the right word but that is only because of the neighborhood watch brigade. I'm blooming useless at routine so if I can get this project moving then that would be good for everyone :)
Wish I would have purchased some silver from you now after the price of sbd/btc has crashed. I'm a poor church mouse at the mo lol.
Oh btw I have a tattoo and I used to have it emprinted onto a silver pendant. I would lost it a while ago and it meant a lot to me. When I get some cash in the bank, is this something I could pay you to make for me? It would only be a small (Flat)opal shaped pendant, but thought I would ask. I'll send you pick of my tattoo if you can help out..

I can really see your blog taking off. i think you have advice for sooooo many people! :) u need a brand logo and a story telling. Then you can get your name out there! I think people might come from miles around to ask you questions about how they can fix their car.... maybe you can even start a community of mechanics on here, where anyone can post a question and one of many mechanics in the community can respond. best responses get the best up votes, those responses may come in the form of a video or a written reply. You may want to create a certain type of blog/ tag for people asking questions / "clients" bringing new cars to you, and another tag or response blog for answers to the questions / videos of yuor advice or even demonstrations on how to carry you through the repairs yourself. you could even publish several blogs taking people through step by step. I can even see an app coming out of this... Mechunteers.com or something like that matching people with mechanics... anyway, food for thought for now....

Jesus! That is some vision you have there. I like it!
I am a few steps behind with the tag/blog thing but get what you mean and with a few days clear I am sure I could think of a framework for that. I have just remembered that I still have my folders from my apprenticeship and it was all on paper so I can maybe do some king of low-level training vid for beginners.
My dad has his car garage that is full of the bigger tools and I am thinking of asking the old git if he wants to help out(He is old school and knows his stuff too). Might even get a bit of comedy as my dad and I have a lot of banter(good and bad lol) He has welding gear and oxygen torches that have a great visual effect and if I can blow my own trumpet for a moment, I am shit-hot with a welder! Thanks for your support and advice, this has definitely given me the push I needed. I will have to get some stuff out of the way first and then will put some real time into this.

Cool! good luck with it, let me know if u need any further clarifications ;)

Yes bud, I will do. Just need to get this Wednesday out of the way and then I'll be on it. Thanks for your help and I will definitely be seeking more advice in the future. So much still to learn. Good look with promo-steem and I will try to promote it on my posts(Although I have a memory like a grate sometimes).

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Article61 - Rebel-Dan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60371.26
ETH 2609.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54