The FIRST Steemit MARTIAL ARTS Tutorial - The Most Powerful Kick (Thai Kickboxing)

in #tutorial8 years ago (edited)

The World's Most Powerful Kick

In the following tutorial I will show and tell you everything you need to know in order to throw arguably the world's most powerful kick: the Muay Thai Roundhouse Kick. I've always taken a scientific approach to studying martial arts. I break the motions down into discrete bits which make them easier to learn and, hopefully, easier to teach. The Muay Thai roundhouse is probably the most popular and devastating kick utilized in mixed martial arts, but it also has practical applications in self-defense scenarios. It is my belief that everything you need to know about this kick is included in the video, the only thing left for you to do is watch and practice, practice, practice.

Update: @acidyo asked a good question in the comments about how long it takes to learn this discipline. If you have a good coach and practice regularly you can learn every muay thai strike in just a couple of months. Mastery, of course, takes years. Gyms that fixate on belts and having their members pay to reach new levels are NOT REAL FIGHT GYMS. They may be fine for people who are upgrading from sitting on the couch watching Real Housewives, but they're not for people who seriously want to master a fight sport.

P.S. If you're in NYC, reach out!

NEW POST: How Steemit Turbocharges Productivity (Insomnia Post)

Sort:  

Your production value is on a very high level, I enjoy your videos :)

Thanks Craig, I've been studying film and video production for a while. Apparently I knew steemit was going to come along and give me an opportunity to take advantage of those skills!

Congrats on a great post! Informative, entertaining, thought provoking and garnering a fantastic response. Keep making Steemit a community!

I expect more and more tutorials to pop up as users seek to post more and better content.. We can expect to learn just about everything from steemit posts.......

thanks for your vote!! its not often I get rewarded as much...... Really appreciate it!!!

Write or vlog about something you are passionate about other than steemit and notify me via slack, I'll be sure to give you an upvote.

Great tutorial!
A good quick kick to surprise your friends :)

I've always wanted to start with some self-defense, I've heard Muay Thai may be one of the most successful ones. How hard is it to become good at it compared to Karate and their belt-ranks?

Your series might convince me to start with something soon. :) Keep it up!

Good question! In professional mixed martial arts (e.g. UFC) fighters throw Muay Thai Kicks, Western Boxing Punches, use wrestling to take their opponent to the ground, and use Brazilian Jiu Jitsu once on the ground (more or less). This is because these have proven to be the most effective techniques for those tasks. So it all depends on what you feel like mastering. If you just want to throw punches, western boxing is the most efficient and effective form of striking with the hands. If you want to use the rest of your body to strike Muay Thai is the way to go because they use everything: hands, elbows, knees, legs. Muay Thai punches are very similar to western boxing and in fact they seem to be converging as Muay Thai practitioners adopt western boxing techniques. Muay Thai generally isn't a bullshit racket like most forms of karate, my gym doesn't even use belts. You're either a beginner, intermediate, or you are a fighter. Jiu Jitsu and Wrestling tend to be the same way, which is probably why they are so effective. These practitioners are obsessed with gaining practical skills that work in the real world, so their ultimate metric is that, not how many belts you can buy. With respect to how long it takes, my coach says (and with 6 years of experience I agree) that it only takes a couple of months of coming regularly to learn all the important details of the strikes. As I say in the video, these strikes are highly efficient so they don't have lots of moving parts. The difficulty is actually figuring out how to eliminate an extraneous and unnecessary movements. It takes months to learn, years to master.

Cool, so Muay Thai is kind of like a mix of every fighting sport.

"that it only takes a couple of months of coming regularly to learn all the important details of the strikes"

that sounds good in my ears, I would just want to be a beginner at it, cause compared to most others it would still keep me on my feet vs attackers and I would know how to handle the situation better.

Thanks for the detailed explanation!

Muay thai and western boxing is a great foundation for self defence but you should always remember thay they are mostly praticed as a sport. I would recommend to also look at some disciplines like kali or escrima for some basic techniques using knives and other weapons if its self defence you are after. And dont fall for any fancy defence technics, just keep it basic and incorporate it in to your boxing or muay thai work. For example can you still throw a kick or punch if someone pulls a knife or should you just run etc. As a sport however Muay Thai is great! I have been training Muay Thai and western boxing for the past 10 years and will probably never quit.

I generally tell people that if you want to strike practice Muay Thai, if you want to grapple learn Jiu Jitsu. Jiu Jitsu also covers a lot of wrestling. Arguably Jiu Jitsu is better for real world fights because once you get your hands on someone you can pretty much own them if you're better at jiu jitsu than them. In addition, punching someone in the head can break your hand, so since jiu jitsu relies on chokes and joint locks, you can take your opponent out without injuring yourself. I would recommend just finding the nearest MMA gym near you. Try out the different styles and see which you enjoy most. If you don't enjoy practicing, you won't go to class and you won't strive to improve.

I started training in Mauy Thai in Sand Diego for about a year before leaving the US again and it was by far the best, most fun and rewarding workout I've ever done. A 1 hour workout left me sweaty, exhausted, beaten and I could wait to come back the next day. Luckily I had a great coach which helps a lot.
Great video and good luck in your training!

Thanks! I had the same experience. If you're ever in NYC be sure to reach out, I can take you to my gym!

Shame I missed this one when you first put it out there, I would have tried to promote it more; very good, please do more.

CG

Thanks CG, good to know. Punches coming soon ;) I'll try to remember to notify you via slack

This is a really cool tutorial man. I'm into wing chun myself, But love to learn differnet styles.

Awesome video. Learned something new, thanks!

Good idea for a series. It might be hard to get a solid audience at first, but posts like this should get plenty of votes over the long term. Since steemit really rewards only new content, it might be hard to find an audience for niche stuff at first. But we'll see! Good luck!

I really enjoy teaching this stuff, so a niche audience is fine by me! Thanks!

He has posted a lot of quality content from before anyway, so it might not be too hard to find an audience. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66293.76
ETH 3282.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70