Update + Microphone reviewsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #tunes5 years ago

Sooooo basically my computer and microphones are potatoes and its difficult to do anything with average production quality. Anyways, since I probably won't be able to get a decent xlr microphone/mixer system anytime soon (especially since the SAF pays non-combat NSF's only 430USD during their two years of National Service), I went ahead and bought a budget microphone. I will try my best to upgrade my system soon so I can put out content.

Heresy, I know. But hear me out. This microphone was rated as one of the best budget microphones around - just like its more famous counterpart: the Fifine K669. This, however, is the Fifine K668, since I wasn't able to find the former in at a reasonable price anywhere in Singapore. I managed to get this microphone at a ridiculous price of 15SGD (11.50USD) from a shady store in a shady, seemingly abandoned building, out of a shop ran out of a multistory parking lot. Pretty great, considering it's original price is 22USD.

Or, so I thought. As of now, I'm rather unimpressed. On it's default settings, the microphone peaks easily when gain is set above 85% and when one speaks into it reasonably loud as heard in the first clip. Ah, clip. Speaking of that word, clipping also occurs. To be fair though, the microphone does much better when used from a distance as seen in the 2nd clip (try not to let my terrible singing convince you otherwise) and is still an incredible budget option.

Just not quite worthy of music recording - yet.
I will put the microphone through further tests, since it's not fair to test a product based on it's out of box settings.

Close up

Distanced

Sort:  

Congratulations @retropetrolmusic! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 66739.07
ETH 3228.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23