you might be living on a land mine and never know it till its too late.

in #tumorregistry6 years ago

I grew up in a very small and rural community. The nearest gas station was a few miles away and took half a day on foot to get there. the roads, the few there were, tree lined and prestine encaseing small horse farms and corn fields. My parents thought it would be the best place for us kids to grow up in, they couldn't have been more wrong! within those marshes and rivers I saw the horrors. The two headed turtles and the mangled fish that we pulled in on our fishing lines we thought and laughed at as just another freak of nature. no one ever thought a thing about it until one day we heard that those inocent looking marshes were hiding an array of chemicals illegally dumped there by a hardware store, a medical facility and others that all of course denied that it ever happened. Of course. flash forward twenty years and now that swamp with the two headed turtle is now filled in and built on. I went there not too long ago and it sent a chill down my spine when I saw the kids playing in those yards that contained the waste, I t almost made me cry. None of those unsuspecting homeowners nver knew of the stories now nonexistant in any web search and forgotten. I think about the pregnant moms that are being exposed to the fumes from their lots and basements. I wonder if their kids are o.k. I, like them will never know as this country has yet to create a searchable tumor registry for this country.
We need to know! We should have the right to know! Politics aside its the right responsible thing to do! I went through cancer myself, possibly unrelated to where I grew up but maybe not, wont ever know that answer because theres no way of researching areas impacted with high numbers of certain tumors. Yhis is vital info that we need to know now! I for one am tired of being a lab rat because communties are afraid of the residences being devalued while another kid has to suffer through the hell cancer is. This is got to stop. During my treatment I attended a legislation day at my capitol with hopes that we as survivors could get more funding for cures but never instructed us to ask for a registry to prevent it. We need this now but until it happens make sure to get your soil tested especially in new construction. This dumping could have happened everywhere make sure that You and Your family are safe.

Sort:  

Congratulations @revj! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

thank you! I hope to see steem become big/better than the existing options available: facebook. Will be working towards that goal!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61240.20
ETH 3247.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45