My Tumblrs for Az, Co, Ut & Wy

in #tumblr6 years ago

SteemIt isn't my first pony show. I played with different social networks. Steemit is just the first one smart enough to create a built in compensation model.

A few years back, I created a slew of Tumblrs to go with my community directories. The blogs are:

Tumblr was built on the dot-bomb model. The idea was that a site could get super big by doing stuff for free. It would then sell to the highest bidder.

The highest bidder was Yahoo, who found that Tumblr was largely white noise. Yahoo lost a few billion dollars and imploded.

As for me, I was hoping that Tumblr might generate some web traffic for my other sites, but it didn't. I reblogged 10k photos. The site proves is that there is a huge amount of great photography online.

Like most social media sites, tumblr has an inward focus. One sends traffic to Tumblr and nothing ever comes back out.

I guess the same is true for Steemit ... but at least steemit has a compensation model.

Sort:  

Wow, what a huge library of images. Nice photos!

I'm interested to hear more about your experiences online with all these different platforms. You've dug into a whole lot more than I have, and it's interesting to read about your perspectives.

What I care most about is independent web development--sites where people buy a domain and build their own creation. Tumblr is interesting in that a good photographer can use it to build traffic. Unfortunately, the small amount of traffic that comes out of tumblr seems to be of low value. It is people randomly clicking on links.

The problem with all the social media platforms is that the platform itself is the message. The programs tend to have an excesses inward focus. The inward focus ends up destroying the platform.

Congratulations @yintercept! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63326.84
ETH 2648.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82