Try Something New - Why Not?

in #trysomething6 years ago

Hello, friends!

I wanted to extend an invitation to join me in a little challenge over the next week - nothing too intense, and just for fun, to expand our horizons together and make things interesting…

Try something you’ve never tried before.

I’ll be doing this too, and I was hoping some of you might join me along the way and post what you’ve chosen so we can all live vicariously through each other and share ideas :)

My boyfriend Chris (who is also my business partner) and I had a conversation recently with a new client who had never been to a group workout class before, and she said that she hadn’t tried anything new in awhile and that it was time to branch out.

This really got us thinking - it’s so easy to get wrapped up in our usual habits of doing the same workouts, eating the same foods, watching the same shows, going to the same restaurants… Don't get me wrong, I love a good routine! It's just so much fun to pepper in new activities and experiences now and again for a little variety :)

So in order to change things up, Chris and I are going to try something new this week!

It’s always so much fun to branch out, and we’re always glad when we do.

I remember a couple of years ago I went down to Long Beach to visit my best friend I’ve known forever, and we went to her boyfriend’s parents’ market and picked up a bunch of our favorite fruits and treats that are hard to find in the US (at least in Santa Barbara)… I brought them all home to Chris to try which was super fun, because he’d never even seen most of them before and it was a completely eye-opening endeavor for him :)

Dragon fruit, lychees, longans (dragon eyes), rambutans, jackfruit, mangosteens... All the good stuff!

My friend is Taiwanese, so together we’ve explored a lot of food from Asia over the years - we have had a long-standing agreement that if she tries something, I have to try it too no matter what, and vice versa. It has forced both of us out of our culinary comfort zones many times, and it’s been such a fun and interesting learning experience!

We’re not sure what this week is going to bring for us, but we will let you know! There are some workout styles Chris and I would like to try out, we might search out new food if we can, experiment with a new supplement… Who knows! But whatever it is, we’ll keep you posted :)

Please join us in making this week interesting! Let me know what you try in the next 7 days - Chris and I are super excited to hear your stories!

The only guiding suggestion we're going to make is that you choose something healthy to try :)

We’re going to use the tag #trysomething if anyone would like to use it too!

Please feel free to comment, upvote, or resteem if you’d like! :)

My Post (3).jpg

Sort:  

when you push yourself beyond what feels comfortable is when you grow as a being. plus, new stuff is dope either way you look at it, it opens you up to new reference points and thus to a new way of looking at the world around you

So true. Well said! :)

Interesting!
Try something new and do something that's not in your regular routine make you little uncomfortable, but it's exciting and fun!

By the way, it seems that jackfruit is not ripe fully. When it's fully ripe, you know how sweet it is.

I think so too - I've always thought new experiences were more exciting and fun than scary, I guess it's all in the way you look at it, right? :)

Oh wow, really? I wonder if it would've gotten even sweeter if we'd waited... We ate that jackfruit right then and there haha, and it was delicious! It's one of my favorites!

Get out of your comfort zone. I agree!

Indeed - glad we're on the same page! It's going to be a great week!

The surest path to growth,
The trusted path to improvements,
The realest path towards excellence, is to try something new.

People no longer improve because they are always comfortable with being stationary and for the fear of failing or not doing good enough.
But the one who keeps trying out new things will surely discover new things about self and life in general.

Thanks for encouraging and helping people #trysomething. You guys are the real MVP

Wow, I love this! And I completely agree. You're very wise - thank you for such a thoughtful comment, and for the kind words! :)

You are welcome

Hey Anne, could u show the nutrition source such as website or statement of doctor for ur nutrition content or workout content? hehe thank you..

Hey friend! I'm not sure exactly what you're asking, I'm sorry! The workouts I post are ones that I've written with my partner, and the nutrition information I put forward I've learned over years of experience and independent study... Did you want me to point you in the direction of another credible online resource for nutrition and workout information?

oh hehehehe, yeah i want..

Thanks for giving us this input 😊 I think it is great to always try out new things. Last year a friend of mine mentioned that he tries every year a new sports. I liked this idea: This year I tried horseback riding for the first time and it was really fun! I like the idea of trying out something "smaller", but also new and healthy this week... don't know yet what, but I will think about it 😊

You're so welcome! And that's so cool that you ran with that idea and decided to try horseback riding! What a fun activity - I've only tried it a couple of times but I liked it too :) I'm excited to hear if you try something this week, if you do please share! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54642.70
ETH 2317.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33