You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tree Tuesday ~ The Deep Dark Woods: And Why They Write Stories To Scare The Hooey Out Of Us ~ Original Photography and Semi-Long Discussion ~

This panic run seems to be the flight or fight response of the human animal in their daily lives and decision making. They are born, look around enjoy themselves then the modern world tells them they are 'lost' and they need to 'find themselves' then they run like the dickens straight to their graves, bumping into outcroppings and tripping over logs the entire way, looking over their shoulder in fear...people. Silly little buggers.

I've always had mixed fear and lure of the woods, even as a small child. But I was reared on the real fairy stories where the mermaid doesn't get a prince and you must beware of dogs with eyes as big as saucers. I think Disney is probably the real monster and isn't that the best disguise for a monster? To look so enticing and have so many sweets and bright colours that their prey are simply lead to them, smiling, handing over wallets before the kill?

I'm not sure where I went there other than to me Disney and much of the 'modern oeuvre' is far more menacing to me than a dark wood where I can walk, get lost and not be bothered with people. The true words of the old curmudgeon. I'd needlework that on a tester, but then it would presuppose I wanted someone to see it ;)

And, how are you today?

Sort:  

We are silly little creatures, that's for sure. And will probably never change. Especially with all the new daily influence we receive, as the world spins faster and faster and becomes so technologically connected. And as for the corporate stuff you discuss, I yi yiii. The almighty dollar at work to add to it. Now I'm down and dumpy. OK, on to more lighter fare. I want to see your collection of tester's one of these days (I assume that's like a pillow or throw or something like a rug, you needlepoint. I'm so needlepointish!!)

Things are going along well here. I have been delinquent on the site since last week. Doing the cooking challenge and getting a machine thing ready for a show-like thing this weekend. They are fun, putting together a science project, but take a lot of time. Sort of a Rube Goldberg sort of thing. And I got an award, even if it is a bit...kitchy....or however that is spelled. Otherwise, life is grand. Hope all is well in your world as well. And the snow has abated. And the electricity actually stays on. Have a nice Easter, what is left of it on the East coast. Cheers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67003.49
ETH 3502.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87