You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The never-truth era: Media and belief

in #truth6 years ago

I once gave a talk at a conference in San Diego. Later I was interviewed by a reporter about some of the topics I brought up. The next day not only was I misquoted but it was like we were at two different conferences! Since then I have never looked at the news media the same way.

Yes, this is the lesson for every story one ever reads.

I have come to believe that the reporter probably was competent but heard and saw only what he could, given his perspective.

Which view was more sensationalised, yours or his?

There is no equivalency between the two but our beliefs make us blind to that fact.

Not every debate is created equal. This is a problem when someone argues for creationism against scientific evidence. There is nothing to argue against as there is no evidence on one side other than words in an old book.

Sort:  
Which view was more sensationalised, yours or his?
Right after I posted that’s the thought I had so I looked at my notes. It was his. ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61882.63
ETH 2581.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56