You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Creation Truth Short - Age of the Earth

in #truth7 years ago

I am really glad that you responded. Thank you as well for your time. Time is life. Time is love. Giving of our time is an expression of love to our fellow man, that is why we call it "charity."

Thank you too! I do appreciate the discussion and the time you are putting in to honestly share your thoughts and opinions with me!

Many people have a misconception that speaking the truth is judging someone, but it is not true.

Those things that I am calling out are judgmental in nature because you are giving a value evaluation, classifying something as good or bad based on your own subjective standards. I'm pointing it out because I see it as a tiny bit hypocritical if you are holding the teachings of the Bible as I understand them to be true. I'm merely pointing out something that I view as a contradiction.

But as I don't subscribe to the Bible as a good source of morality, I don't personally view being judgmental as a big problem. As long as people are sharing their opinion honestly, I don't think they have to censor themselves to make it more palatable to me or others. As you pointed out and as I do indeed agree, it's better to be honest even if what you have to say might be a critical of another person.

Jesus said that He judged no man, yet He called people hypocrites, children of the devil, snakes, etc, and told some of them directly to their face that they would never escape Hell.

And this is what I call a contradiction. Sending someone to hell is nothing but a judgment. Why do you call judgment day, judgment day? Why do people say that god will judge you when you die. That's Jesus, right? So Jesus was indeed not honest when he said he judged no man. It's one of the many internal contradictions and inconsistencies that the bible has to offer.

It's like the verses you are citing on honesty contradicting the verses about not judging others.

From my initial response to your statement, I stated that The Holy Bible is 100% Eternal, Infallible Truth that cannot be proven false.

You realize that this is just a bold assertion, not something that you have shown to be the case in any way, right? And you realize that I reject it and find it entirely baseless and unwarranted exactly because it hasn't been demonstrated to be the case in any way, right? As I find this statement to be baseless and utterly unsubstantiated, I see any conclusions that you draw based on it to be baseless and utterly unsubstantiated.

God is perfectly just and must punish sin, or He is a Pushover, and doesn't deserve to be respected, nor obeyed.

But all you have to do according to the most common doctrines of Christianity to be forgiven is to accept Jesus as your savior. Do you subscribe to this notion? If you do, that's a pretty easy loophole to escape punishment and based on your logic, it makes the god of the Bible a pushover indeed.

All religions are satanic in origin

I don't know about all, but the religions I'm familiar with all have aspects that make them despicable to me and Christianity falls squarely in that category for me because I do think it supports genocide, slavery, misogyny, homophobia and other immoral behaviors and ideas passing them off as the commandment of a god.

Either we pay it ourselves by eternal death, or we accept the sacrifice of the Only Sinless One that was qualified to pay our debt on the Cross of Calvary.

If I have to be honest, this idea makes zero sense to me and I actually find it silly and hilarious. What, the omnipotent and all-knowing god had to introduce a loophole into his otherwise perfect laws and plans to fix them by sacrificing himself to himself to appease his bloodthirsty self. And all of this nonsense is something that god planned as the best way to create things right from the moment of creation? I really have a hard time taking this idea seriously as its absolutely convoluted and pointless.

Just because I said that "No one is inferior to you" is not a claim that anyone is superior to you. It is just a true statement. The Creator is the only Superior Being.

You just told me who is superior to me... ;)

Anyone that believes a lie is deluded. If you don't believe the truth, obviously you are deluded. Plain and simple. That goes for everybody, including me.

And indeed I think you are.

He will hold us all accountable, whether we like it or not.

If he existed. I don't believe he does. Even if the god of the Bible existed and that was shown to me, I don't see how I would accept him as just or moral as the god character of the Bible is neither of those things. Praising him would be an act of selfish hypocrisy and is something I would certainly not be able to do sincerely.

Since I do have infallible truth from the Scriptures

I don't know how you can substantiate that claim. The fact that the Bible is full of contradictions and inaccuracies makes it pretty fallible in my opinion and clearly discredits any claims it might have for infallibility and truthfulness. Why should I accept this and why wouldn't you address the problems that I have pointed out?

Our little finite minds can't even conceive of an infinite, eternal, omniscient, omnipotent Being, but that doesn't change anything.

That's obfuscating. Even my little limited mind can see the clear contradictions and until those contradictions have not been explained away, claiming that the Bible is perfect is nothing more than a discredited assumption. If god exists and is perfect, he should have no trouble presenting us with a convincing book. Or are you claiming that he is not capable of explaining this to limited beings like ourselves? If god is indeed omnipotent, he should be able to demonstrate the truthfulness of his words to a rock, not just us.

I encourage you to read my post on THE MAIN THING here on Steemit

I'm not sure which post you mean, could you link me to it?

There really are no atheists. You all know there is a Creator that made the Heavens and the Earth, but you all have doubts, which is okay, but denying the truth in your hearts, because you can't prove an Invisible Being with your five physical senses is not a valid excuse to God

Please refrain from speaking on my behalf ;) This is not my position. My position is very simple and it is that there is no good reason to believe in a god or gods. You can read this post of mine if you want to understand the real reasons for me not believing instead of inventing some that would fit your worldview for me.

The order of Creation is found right in Genesis 1. Atheists say that Genesis 2 has a different order of Creation, but they don't know how God communicates. God usually summarizes what He says, or He says it a different way to add more depth to the information, but that doesn't change what He already said.

What makes you qualified to interpret and change the supposed word of god? You are just saying, there is not contradiction, if it looks like a contradiction than it's not what god meant. Well, what did he mean? If the Bible can be interpreted so inconsistently, why would you point out verses. If a statement like "first this, then that" can be interpreted to basically mean the opposite, than no statement in the book holds any real value as you should obfuscate it into meaninglessness in the exact same way.

My interpretation of the Genesis 1 and 2 is an honest one, I take it for what it is. And the two chapters give contradictory accounts. Your refutation is not logically sound and in my opinion is simply motivated and circular reasoning. You don't need to claim to know the reason for the contradiction to acknowledge that it's there and in my view, looking at the text and saying there is not contradiction is basically dishonest.

When you look at a picture up close and from afar, things don't switch places so your metaphor doesn't really explain anything. And metaphors are not arguments or reasons anyway.

The God of Truth cannot change anything that He says. Every Word is Eternal, and He must keep every single word or He is a Liar!

Well, he either doesn't exist as described in the bible or he is a liar, I agree with that.

Which indeed is the least of all seeds: but when it is grown, it is the greatest among herbs, and becomes a tree, so that the birds of the air come and lodge in the branches thereof. (Matthew 13:32)

You must be using a pretty unconventional translation of the Bible there: https://www.biblegateway.com/verse/en/Matthew%2013%3A32

You can check the source material in its original language and you'll see that this is indeed an incorrect and likely purposefully misleading translation.

The sky does "appear" to be a ceiling or dome, however, that was not what the Scripture says. Again I emphasize "EVERY SINGLE WORD" is important to understanding the Scriptures.

When did you last check the sources. If you care about every single word in the Bible, you should drop English and study Hebrew and Greek.

God does not need our opinions and interpretations of what He said, but He hides His wisdom for the humble that will seek it out.

Indeed, god is playing the longest game of hide-and-seek. So this is a test for gullibility and credulity. So you do indeed agree that not believing in god is the warranted position and you can get to what you call the truth by what is essentially wishful thinking.

Humble are the people that honestly admit that they don't know or that the reasons for believing are insufficient. Arrogant are those who claim to know in the absence of evidence.

For the falling star, I would have to see the Scripture reference. I don't think it would be any different from us seeing a "falling star" today.

Revelation 6:13. It specifically talks about the "stars of heaven" not shooting stars. It's a very specific phrase and saying it's unclear what it refers to is in my opinion is motivated or dishonest reasoning.

It is my pleasure to share with you my friend.

Same here! :)

You can argue with a person's theory, theology, opinion, but you can't argue with their experience. You may not relate to their experience, but it wasn't your experience, so why should you be able to. We all experience things differently, and from different perspectives.

Generally speaking, you can't tell other people what they have or have not experienced. But we know for a fact that not everything that people have experienced has been correct. The mildest case of personal experience misleading us are things like optical illusions and the most severe cases are hallucinations and mental illnesses like schizophrenia, so we know for a fact that personal experience is not always reliable. Of course, before saying anything about my opinion of yours (and I'm not sure it's even my place to comment on that unless I'm invited to) I should at the very least read your testimony.

I appreciate you sharing your perspective of my disposition and attitude.

Ditto! :)

I know I am not a nice little "religious" person.

Nothing wrong with spirited debate and passion about what you hold as true.

Faithful are the wounds of a friend; but the kisses of an enemy are deceitful. (Proverbs 27:6)

Great quote! I'm glad to say I think we agree on that 100%! :)

Sort:  

Thank you again for taking of your time to give an honest response. It has been a pleasure to discourse with you.

I have read all that you have written in your responses, and I believe that I understand your statements, and your reasons for why you believe what you believe. I told you before that I have more important things to do than argue with proud fools. It is not my responsibility to convince anybody of anything. I am here to point those that are seeking God to His words of Truth. If you choose to trust in your own prejudiced beliefs against God's Word, and logical arguments for reasons to reject His Word, you alone will pay for it eternally. It is your choice!

The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God. They are corrupt, they have done abominable works, there is none that does good. (Psalms 14:1)

God has given mankind all that we need. There is no legitimate excuse for rejecting His provision, demanding more, and insisting that His decisions are unjust, and His provisions are insufficient. He will tell you face to face what He thinks of your demands and requirements on Judgment Day.

I do sincerely hope that you will humble yourself and seek the truth that you may escape from the blindness and captivity that has enslaved your heart and mind with logical arguments based on false premises.

In meekness instructing those that oppose themselves; if God peradventure will give them repentance to the acknowledging of the truth; And that they may recover themselves out of the snare of the devil, who are taken captive by him at his will. (2 Timothy 2:25-26)

It is so sad to see so many beautiful human beings like you, wonderful intelligent creatures end up being deceived, damned, and punished for all eternity, but no one makes us decide what we choose to believe.

I will praise thee; for I am fearfully and wonderfully made: marvellous are thy works; and that my soul knows right well. (Psalms 139:14)

Best regards my friend!

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00