You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Welcome to Your Driverless Future!

in #truth6 years ago

I'm one for helping to usher in new technologies, and any type of innovation on any front is always pleasing to me. But there is one thing that this sort of thing poses great difficulty for. While self-driving seems good in theory, and I definitely support it, and hope to see more of it, but one place that poses difficulties is for folks such as myself who are blind. I mention this especially in terms of services such as Uber and Lift. They are great services, better often than the government-subsidized ride services offered, and if I could get the subsidy for Lift without having to be signed up for the MBTA Ride, I would. But that is neither here nor there. The problem that I see with self-driving technology not in control by the user is, how on earth would they make the AI reliable enough to find a blind person who can see neither car color, nor read the license plate number? Both are questions tht first need to be answered before I will ever consider having a self-driving lift vehicle.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57495.90
ETH 2348.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36