You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Doing something to get paid, and doing something because it fuels you at a deeper level

in #truth6 years ago

There's a woman I usually listen to/ follow on youtube, her name is Barbara Sher. She is what is now called a life coach or motivational speaker. In one of her public addressess she said the following sentence "If you like food, don't open a restaurant. If you like sex, don't become a hooker". This changed my life. I've been looking to make my passion a source of income ever since I had a clue of what it was, without realizing this just cheapens out the whole activity. What Sher proposes is to get a 'good enough job' to pay the bills, make sure this job doesn't take more energy than what you're willing to give it, and try to have as much time as possible to do what you really want. This way your job is not your full time occupation, but the activities that fill your soul are. Happy soulsmake happy humans, happy humans make a better world (Sher did not say this, I did hahahaha).

I am a translator, I do this for maybe two hours a day and my brain is fried, but I take the rest of the day to be with my family and to do craft projects and to write my thoughts or draw them. My soul is fed.

I'm following now, good post :o)

Sort:  

That is probably the best approach that most of us can do, at least for now anyways. I will check out Barbara. Thanks for the suggestion.

That's a pretty good life philosophy ;) Thanks for the feedback.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58015.02
ETH 2381.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42