You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sheeple vs Enlightened

in #truth8 years ago

Hopefully I am in another group of non-sheeple who get lumped in with sheeple. I marched for racial equality in the late 60s, I worked for sexual equality (the pre-feminism term) in the early 70s, I worked in health food co-ops, grew my own organic food and started a worker owned business or three. I organized against the huge corporations, voted and supported libertarian politicians, advocated for distributed food and energy production, and buttonholed people about the unelected state.

But then I retired. That fight is for the young. I brought it from the 60s to the 90s and now it's someone else's turn. I passed it on, taught when there was a student, and still conform my life to the principles, but I'm doing something else now.

I do occasionally write a scathing reply or a sarcastic comment on current affairs, and sometimes I will lecture a kid on the city bus, but for the most part I am done. My individual efforts, as you point out, are unnecessary and ineffective, while the young folks can organize much more effectively without me. It's time for me to sit down and rest, but damn, it burns when someone calls me a sheeple. I was woke before their daddy rolled over and went to sleep.

Sort:  

Hopefully I am in another group of non-sheeple who get lumped in with sheeple. I marched for racial equality in the late 60s, I worked for sexual equality (the pre-feminism term) in the early 70s, I worked in health food co-ops, grew my own organic food and started a worker owned business or three. I organized against the huge corporations, voted and supported libertarian politicians, advocated for distributed food and energy production, and buttonholed people about the unelected state.

Very interesting past you have over there. How different is it back then compared to protestations that are going on now? (assuming that you've been into any recently)

It's time for me to sit down and rest, but damn, it burns when someone calls me a sheeple. I was woke before their daddy rolled over and went to sleep.

Unless you're dressed like this.. then no, you're not a sheeple lol xD

The main difference in four words? Four Dead in Ohio.


What if you knew her and found her dead on the ground?

The terrible, "militarized" police state of today actually stands guard over the protestors to protect them from counter-protesters. That's really what they usually do. It's because "they" know such protest can be manipulated in the media to have any desired effect, but we would have loved to have that in 1970.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kent_State_shootings

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58949.08
ETH 2306.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47