When I Try to Tell People What Has Happened to My Neighborhood They Think I'm Exaggerating

in #truth7 years ago (edited)

I realize that these photos are low quality and that yes, my car is very dirty - the air quality is so bad here that my car is covered in filth again one day after washing it, so sometimes it is hard to want to bother. But I had been thinking of doing a high quality photo documentary of the homeless situation in Oakland, California, for over a year now but don't have the means to cobble together sound enough security to do so, so I have been putting it off, putting it off. When I left the house today I got a wild hair and decided, whatever, I'm just going to do it, crappy cell phone photos in overcast weather are better than nothing. And the thing is, I am moving soon, I realized I would be upset if I never got around to taking any photos at all. Because when I try to tell people what has happened to my neighborhood, they don't really seem to believe me at all.

These photos were taken within two miles from where I have lived for several years now. The drug needles are starting to make their way to the sidewalk in front of my door. I don't dare let my daughter play outside alone. People have started randomly walking out into the street in front of cars. More of the cars are deciding to not stop at red lights. And I don't mean just 'Oops, I just barely ran that red light', I mean, blowing through halfway through a red light at 60 miles per hour. The cars aren't content to blow through the stop signs at 35-45 on my 25 mph road anymore, at night some of them are gunning through all the signs at what looks/sounds like closer to 65-75mph. Everything left outside that's not bolted down gets stolen. The grocery store just bought new carts but they are running out again because they all get stolen. There are no hand tools at the car parts store because they all get stolen (despite having security) so they stopped bothering. The dollar store that many poor people here depended on for groceries couldn't keep up with the thefts and decided finally close up shop.

These photos are by no means a comprehensive representation of even the 2 miles around me. I just happened to take these on my way out today. I should go take some photos of the RV caravans and the janked, stripped, burnt out cars that end up here far more frequently than you'd expect.

If I wanted to document all of the encampments in Oakland I would have to dedicate time daily for over a year.

040.jpg

044.jpg

059.jpg

241.jpg

308.jpg

313.jpg

316.jpg

317.jpg

320.jpg

325.jpg

355.jpg

359.jpg

409.jpg

I did not set out with any intent to take identifying photos of people or with a desire to stain their dignity or whatever the fake-liberals might accuse me of, but these encampments are occupied at all times. After taking notice of me, this man approached my vehicle to yell threatening obscenities at me and tell me what he thinks about me. I do not feel compelled to dignify people who act like gremlins and photographed people who approached me in case they tried to do something bad to me or my vehicle. This is one of the many faces of homelessness in Oakland.

415.jpg

440.jpg

444.jpg

452.jpg

506.jpg

512.jpg

627.jpg

709.jpg

612.jpg

716.jpg

732.jpg

815.jpg

817.jpg

After I snapped this photo, this female came out into the roadway to physically block my car and yell at me. I tried to back out a couple of times but she called a friend out of a tent to help her. I then took her photo. She started yelling threatening things and about how she was going to sue me for taking her photo, and she physically put herself on my car, so it did not by any means seem safe to try to nudge my car out of there. After writing down my license plate and taking a photo of my car with his cell phone, the guy appeared to leave to possibly gather help, so I called the police for assistance. Will these people send an army of goons out to case the neighborhoods for my car so they can vandalize it? Who knows. Of course the lady got off my car shortly before the police arrived but at that point I did not want to risk her jumping in front of my car as I tried to leave. The police were like Umm lady you can't be parked here. Lol sigh.

831.jpg

849.jpg

924.jpg

926.jpg

930.jpg

710.jpg

This particular encampment is too dangerous to get closer to to photograph. On the opposite side of the sidewalk, the side closer to me, there is a very large encampment hidden from view by that cement pillar. They have a bbq grill and everything. From time to time I see ladies in high heels get out of their cars to go fraternize with the men at this encampment.

So there you have it folks, a very tiny sliver of the streets of Oakland, California today. This is not a new situation, but it only gets worse and worse. I refuse to be the frog in the pot as it comes to a boil anymore.

Sort:  

I just scrolled down, didnt read. What I saw on photos, looks like African town with no order

This is what's happening on the East Coast in the big liberal Utopia of Baltimore. I did the same thing, moved out years ago. I still have to drive through almosr every day. The big mean truck helps a lot, it has lights and bars on the front and back.

Annie this is terrible :(

Aye indeed but I don't see how this place can get fixed. And in the meantime, the thugs are starting to choose unnecessary proactive violence when they rob people instead of just pulling out a gun and demanding people hand over their stuff like usual (status quo since the last recession). If the economy takes another dive the violence is going to really boil over here.

I can't believe it's gotten that bad in America. It reminds me of some of the bigger cities in India when I visited abour 12 years ago. I am concerned for the American people. I think the shit it really going to hit the fan in the not too distant future.
Thanks for the post.
A real eye opener.

🗅

Hey @annie.oakley this is shocking ... I guess MSM try to keep this out of sight out of mind :( thanks for sharing

Aye and people here seem to be trying to get used to it, like it's supposed to be a 'new normal' =/

This sure don't look like the "Hotel California" that the Eagles sang about ?

Congratulations @annie.oakley! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62836.52
ETH 2558.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72