Who do we trust with our deepest thoughts and life stories?

in #trust5 years ago

My late dad was the only person who truly got me. He always encouraged me to talk until everything that is clogged up inside is out - catharsis.

He compared it with physical pain that you suppress. The moment you start to talk about it, it boils over in the form of tears, grieve and sometimes anger. He believed that it is the best medicine - talk, talk, and talk about it. The secret however is the person you trust with all your deepest emotions, pain, fears, and disappointments. I believe this is the reason people see psychologists. Not only can you entrust your most inner emotions and thoughts with this professional, but they also provide you with tools and guidance on how to overcome the difficulties that you face. So, I am definitely pro psychologists. I also believe that in some instances you'll get similar value from just talking to someone close that you truly trust.

Who would you trust? True trust is when you share details about your life and situations with someone who will:

  • not judge you, no matter what you tell them
  • really listen and allow you to talk until you feel weight lifts from your shoulders
  • never interrupts you
  • show real interest in your wellbeing and situation
  • never share this information with anybody else
  • not hold this information against you

I am sure you can add to this list. So, who in your life complies with this list? Can you think of someone you will be able to trust with all the intracacies of your life? Sadly, I cannot think of anyone in my life. At the same time this concept is complicated. We only need someone to talk to and trust, yet it is very hard to find.

Due to my nature, people never see the real pain and issues that exist in my life. They only sometimes see a few small pieces of the puzzle, but will never comprehend the full picture of me, my struggles and issues. I have the ability to appear strong, professional and in control. The irony is that people approach me and trust me with their inner thoughts and issues. Even more strange, is that I have a gift to coach people and have done so succesfully. Yet, I have no-one close to me I can truly trust. Do you? Share your thoughts.

Let us not loose hope to find such a friend where we can wear our heart on our sleeve.

Until next time

From my heart to yours - HeartsOnSleeves 💙💛💙

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63493.34
ETH 2578.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79