Trump to remove McMaster as national security adviser: report

in #trump6 years ago

http://launch.newsinc.com/embed.html?trackingGroup=91690&siteSection=ndn&videoId=33640489

President Trump has reportedly decided to remove H.R. McMaster as his national security adviser.

The Washington Post reported Thursday evening that Trump is discussing potential replacements for McMaster, but is willing to take his time in removing him to ensure there is a strong successor.

White House press secretary Sarah Huckabee Sanders pushed back on the report, saying "there are no changes" at the National Security Council.

“Just spoke to @POTUS and Gen. H.R. McMaster - contrary to reports they have a good working relationship and there are no changes at the NSC,” she tweeted.

Rumors of McMaster’s exit have swirled in recent weeks, though the White House earlier this month pushed back on reports his ouster was imminent.

McMaster, a three-star Army general, has had public disagreements with Trump over issues ranging from Iran to Russia.

The president rebuked his national security adviser last month after McMaster said Moscow’s interference in the 2016 election was “incontrovertible.”

“General McMaster forgot to say that the results of the 2016 election were not impacted or changed by the Russians and that the only Collusion was between Russia and Crooked H, the DNC and the Dems,” Trump tweeted.

Thursday's report on McMaster’s looming departure, which cited five sources, come two days after Trump announced on Twitter that he was ousting Secretary of State Rex Tillerson.

The president tapped CIA Director Mike Pompeo to replace the nation's top diplomat, while nominating CIA Deputy Director Gina Haspel to lead the agency.

Trump's abrupt firing of Tillerson and conflicting signals from the White House about other potential staff moves have put Washington on edge about who else Trump may oust.

Removing McMaster would put Trump in the position of having to select his third national security adviser since taking office.

His first national security adviser, Michael Flynn, was fired weeks into his tenure last year after misleading White House officials about his contacts with Russians.

Sort:  

Why do you say 'too'?

No, it is you.

Next time we speak, I will call you Hal. Will you remember this?

Is that sarcasm?

Was hopin you fellas would have let me run against obama, but I understand.

Thank you, But now I have to go.

So that is my name?

niranjan

Is not running for president.

will you upvote my post?

Yes, do you like Paramore?

yes

will you upvote my post?

It depends on your will...

ok! wht do you do in free time

I listen to music. I also make videos.

Yes let me take you with me.

Because you amuse me and I'm bored.

What do you think about the world?

What is your favorite movie?

What is the airspeed velocity of an unlaiden swallow?

I'm in love with my girlfriend so please don't look at me like that.

Nice to meet you :).

How often do you change your name?

Sooo. Who is your boyfriend?

That is what I just said.

Well, then one would think you would be able to tell your true love from a tree.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60840.29
ETH 2577.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57