I picked up the knife. I held it for a second or two, my eyes on the shiny blade. I looked at him, then...

in #truestory6 years ago (edited)

MV5BNjk5Nzc5NTM5Nl5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMzg1ODQ2Mg@@._V1_.jpg

...continued from yesterday.

Memory is a strange fish. Like those creatures that live at great depths, who learn to adapt in order to survive such extreme environments.

Before writing this piece I’d buried what I’m about to tell you deep down in the oceans of my mind. Once I began to trawl about for what happened all those years ago, memories flooded back. I surfaced - that is the ‘me’ back then surfaced - a different person to the man I am now. Younger, naive- my determination to make it in the film industry my Achilles heel.

Yesterday, I told you a dark tale of one particular director’s actions. The man shall remain nameless. He’s dangerous.

This is about the same man- the same film.

The shoot was a nightmare, fraught with his stress and tantrums. He tried to control me. He would call me late at night saying he hoped I wasn’t drinking too much at home cos I needed a clear head for the next day.

On set he behaved like a bully, constantly throwing hissy fits at crew members. I avoided the set, and ran the shoot from the office. It seemed to get worse around his low blood sugar episodes, even though he’d not been diagnosed with any medical condition.

He was a con man. Infamous for not paying people what he owed them. As producer of a film with such a tight budget, I had to put my hand in my own pocket time and again, to pay out cast and crew expenses. And even though I was never given a bean of the £40k deferred fee due to me, I ended up forking out 2 grand in expenses from my own personal funds.

MV5BMTU1MzU2MTI5OF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMDk3NjYyMQ@@._V1_UY268_CR1,0,182,268_AL_.jpg

When I asked for the money the director threw a couple of rubber cheques my way. And it wasn’t until I witnessed a bloke getting a payback from him through threatening him I realised this was the only way.

I’m not proud of what I did.

I went round his house and demanded my money. He was bigger than me by at least half a foot and carried a great deal more weight. I was no fighter back then. All I knew was I had to get heavy.

A friend of mine, a writer, who ran a gang in Glasgow when he was 14, had told me the madder your actions the more effective the outcome.

The director let me in and we went through to the kitchen. I told the guy his cheques had bounced and I needed my money. He said he was skint. I remembered my Glaswegian friend’s words and looked to my right hand side. On the table was a kitchen knife. I picked it up. I held it for a second or two, my eyes on the shiny blade. I looked at him, then buried it in the chopping board. I repeated the words –“I want my money back.” Then left.

The walk home took no more than 10 minutes. As I got near my house I saw a police car outside. I ignored it. When I put my keys in the lock two coppers got out. They asked if I was Dickie Shift. I said I was.

I invited them in...for a chat.

Long story short, the director didn’t press charges.

I got my money. He paid the full balance straight away.

We made the film.

But it goes to show what people will do to get into the film industry.

Harvey Weinstein preyed on women. This director preyed on young gay men who were still in the closet. As I’ll tell you tomorrow.

To be continued...

Sort:  

Such compelling writing, it's taken me 2 chapters to stop and say hi, upvoted and followed! Really enjoying your story telling skills and intrigued to learn as the unfolds. I feel this could be the "new" way of writing a book don't you?

You're not wrong there Keni. I've been telling my (novelist) sister this for ages but she's seems to be afraid of trying something new.

@shift17 and I are old friends and am doing my best to guide him in the ways of steemit. Your support & wisdom is hugely appreciated brother x

Yes- you've been an inspiration Sam- thank you x

Thanks- I appreciate you help. This is only my 5th post. It's hard getting people to read your stuff on this site.
I've got one more episode on this yarn.
Because I was trying to attract people quickly I'm looking at the most exciting/shocking events in my life and retelling them here.
I have a novel already written and was thinking about putting it up on steemit. It's about 80 000 words. Could I cut and paste up a 1000 words a day, do you think?

I feel like you could get a instant return for your sharing skills. No publisher in the middle and a direct relationship with your readers. I feel this is a absolutely viable and monetizable authoring model on this platform. Just need some one to take the idea by the handles and run with it. I'd be happy to support such process 👍

Ok- well lets do it--- I finished the novel 6 months ago.

The only thing is if I post 1000 words a day - that's 80 days- if people don't read from the start there's less chance that they can just begin half way through.
Has it ever been done before on steemit?

Btw- Sam tells me you yourself have a rather interesting life story- I'd love to hear that sometime

I'm not sure, best gang to speak with is The Writers Block about publishing tips. I'm sure there's a few tips about self publishing and if anyone has done so on the platform yet. You may well be the pioneer of this? Perhaps just offering a segment of the book, kinda like a written trailer? Then include your QR for a pdf delivery to start with? Or how about featuring a competition for reviews that gifts exclusive signed printed copies to those helping you to market?

Just some ideas, also I know a guy who is a author, he lives here. @Lewisjfclarke is his name and he's a friendly chap to ask questions about too. Good luck new friend! 👍

Thanks for your help :)

Thanks for the continuation :) .. but what I do not understand is that you want to keep the name secret but you give us the title of the film. So you have to count only one and one together and you know who is meant. What I already found out yesterday with the details from the 1st episode;). Are you aware of that?

Sure am :)

What a difficult situation ..! It is unpleasant to have to reach those extremes.

I was young and resilient :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67167.98
ETH 3674.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76