You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: True Stories: Ripped off in Montego Bay (Part One)

in #truestories5 years ago

The shit that contractors could pull prior to Y2K seems ridiculous now’…

Died laughing at that.

That afternoon I decided to take a walk through Montego Bay.

Wrong move bro, unlike Negril or Ocho-Rios; MoBay and Kingston are not the type of places you want to go walking through, like New York City or Mexico for example; there are just some places you should stay in the tourist areas. In MoBay stay near the 'hip-strip' and in Kingston, anywhere outside of downtown is pretty safe. Shit, anywhere outside of downtown Kingston and in-town Montego Bay is safe in Jamaica provided it's not a dark lonely lane at night.

Currently, 1 USD is worth 234 Jamaican dollars

lol it's ~$134 bro, the highest it's ever been. Fairly stable recently too

He had an enormous smile, impossibly white teeth that were enhanced by the colour of his very dark skin and was well dressed..... The stranger almost ran over to me and held out his hand. Taken aback, I involuntary took the hand and shook it.

Red flags, red flags everywhere bro... con artists dress (unusually) well and try that handshake inception globally :)

I mean it was literally one foot out of the bar, next foot into the backseat of this car. Mr. White Smiling Teeth did not get in with me but closed the door firmly behind and the driver took off.

OMG. Sooo sorry!!!! Can't believe that happened, but you are here blogging with us now so I'm hoping this ends with a positive twist in the follow-up. In 1998 chances are they would have to hide Ganja tours but still that must of been scary AF.

Cheers bro, can't wait to hear the conclusion

!BEER


Posted via ReggaeSteem | Reggae Culture Rewarded
Sort:  

Thanks for the big reply. I was hoping someone would give me some answers, though most of the questions posed are in part 2.

MoBay I guess then was a tourist attraction but these days Negril is what I see in the glossy catalogues. Is it no longer a place to go?

I was young then and stupid. It wouldn't happen today even with the best of spells woven on to me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01