Keep your fingers crossed

in #true6 years ago

"Keep your fingers crossed," says my aunt whenever she promises me something. This is to keep me hopeful.

However, we grew up crossing our fingers and legs (literally) because we were told the action was some kind of protection.

In case you walked and encountered a snake, crossing legs would prevent you from getting bitten. I haven't tried this out on the snake because I haven't encountered any but I have tried it on some things like I used to stand with crossed legs in primary because those small naughty boys came to school with mirrors, they would use them to see what you were wearing and if they succeeded, they would go around gossiping about your pantie. Those boys. Some of them are all grown now. I have watched them get married on some Saturdays. Also, there are so many reasons to keep the legs crossed. It works.
Now I am not sure about crossing the fingers and how it works but we were told that it would prevent witchcraft from harming you, bones (magumba) in particular. Yeah this is Africa. There are ways of stopping some things from happening.
I have failed to do away with this and every time I meet a very old woman or man that I don't know (sometimes even the ones I know - trust issues), I cross my fingers.
Today I did it. What makes me think someone would want to send bones, bottles, spoons, cups, meat, and whatever they use to settle in my body? I already look bewitched. 😔.

I saw her first but I guess I caught her attention. She looked at me and saw my crossed fingers.
She shouted, "I also grew up doing that. It doesn't work. Just let your fingers be. I am a witch and I can do whatever I want with you. Just pray that your body rejects whatever I send to you."

I am feeling sick, no, I think my mind is playing tricks with me.....FB_IMG_1527792965881.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @farine! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60514.84
ETH 2575.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56