Adverts And More Adverts

in #true5 years ago

4fa8587c-06b5-11e8-a14a-e7e51bb22d63.png

I think this is what killed watching American Football for me. There are two halves of 45 minutes each with a certain amount of timeouts and a 30 minute break in between. I saw a stat tonight that says the average ball time that a ball is in play over the 90 minutes is 11 minutes. That is quite pathetic really when you think of it in that context.

I watched a few games years ago and one Super Bowl and I have never watched a game since. The average game lasts about three and a half hours and it is boring. I understand the commercial side of things and it generates huge revenues from the adverts, but it will never be a global game.Forty percent of the three and a half hours is commercials.

American football (NFL): The National Football League requires twenty commercial breaks per game, with ten in each half. (Exceptions to this are overtime periods, which have none.) These breaks run either a minute, or two minutes in length{https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Television_timeout}

They have tried games in London and various places, but as a sport to watch I just don't get it. I personally think I would think differently if I had played it and was bought up on it. I love contact sports and if I had been raised in America most likely I would have played this sport.

It is just too drawn out though to sit and watch an entire game yet i can watch cricket that lasts 5 days or a one day game that lasts 8 hours. I think it is the advert breaks that kill it for me as there seems to be more ads than game time.

I was thinking about this tonight as I was watching an American TV channel and eventually had to turn it off. The adverts were just too frequent and too long and that is the difference between America and the rest of the world. American TV is swamped with ad breaks and you lose track of the program you are watching. This is not normal for the rest of us and is actually quite shocking to experience this.

Sort:  

There is a service that you have to pay for that actually works out very nicely for me. Someone makes a condensed version of all the games and all time outs and what not are edited out... of course you have to avoid talking to people that watched the game live for a day but this really works for me. I think it is called Gamepass, so far I have just been downloading them on torrents up to now. I totally get where you are coming from though, there are a TON of breaks in American football and it does get old.

Hi, @cryptoandcoffee!

You just got a 6.63% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Howdy sir cryptoandcoffee! I couldn't agree more but that's why so many people are going to Netflix and others so they don't have to sit through the insane amount of commercials. It's also why I limit my football watching to a couple games a year!

You got a 13.85% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @cryptoandcoffee! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 25 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

I totally agree. And yes, people will say get Netflix or Hulu or some condensing or recording device, but why should it be necessary? Anyone should have the right to sit down and watch the TV, sport or otherwise, without having to put up with a high saturation of commercials. I posted my first and only post on Steemit a few months ago on the the fact that US TV is the worst in the World despite having all the highest professional components in the World, but as a newbie, not sure I did it right - nobody liked or resteemed it - never mind...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63030.98
ETH 2594.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74