You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Life on the Road as a Truck Driver

in #truck7 years ago

Great article man.

I've only been driving for four years now and the things you mentioned in the post are starting to hit home.

Fortunately I'm young and single and have just been banking $$ like you mentioned, however with all the DOT bs and being on the road all the time I'm essentially just waiting to get out of the industry when its appropriate.

It's definitely a rough life and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone unless they are young single and plan to stay that way, its not just a job its a way of life that most people just cant handle.

With that being said there is some serious money to be made depending on what you are hauling(cars) in my case and if you own your equipment. For anyone thinking about getting in I wouldn't do it unless you are going to work for a small company/doing something specialized just my 2 cents.

Sort:  

Awesome Mike48678 sorry it's taken me so long to reply, as you know things get pretty busy with trucking not to mention the life style of uncertainty. I agree with you 100% I was just talking to one of my dispatchers regarding my home time, and because Decker never seems to get drivers home on time, I ended up missing my appointment; and what's even worse is I have not taken home time for a 1 1/2 months so needless to say I was more than ready to have beer. But it's cool, cus I've decided local driving is what I need to do soon as I return home next week. I feel bad for these new drivers that get into this line of work if it's not their passion. Especially if they have a family, more than likely the wife will not stick around anyway thanks for the comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60670.43
ETH 3380.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51