Solving my Google Chrome Issues on my PC

google-chrome-1326908_640.png

Are you a Windows desktop user? If yes, what web browser do you use? Is it #GoogleChrome, #MicrosoftEdge, #InternetExplorer, #Opera, or #Firefox? I know that #Safari can also be installed on #Windows desktop, but I'm not familiar with other web browsers other than what I already mentioned. Well, I don't use a #Macbook, except when I use the school's Macbook for work purposes, but I've always been a Windows desktop user. It's either you prefer Windows over #MacOS, or #Samsung over #iPhone, or vice versa. We all have our own preferences.

On my desktop computer, I use Google Chrome quite regularly more than Edge and IE. I'm just used to it. But then, I don't know what I did last night, I knew I just shut down the computer, and I did not encounter any problem, then this morning, I turned my PC on and clicked the Google Chrome icon on the taskbar. And it would not open at all.

You know the feeling that when you're used to something, but then it's changed, or worse, you lost that thing entirely? That's how I felt when I started my computer and opened my Google Chrome so I could check my mail and do the regular stuff that I do every day. #Uptrennd. #Hive. #Steemit. #SFI. #Gmail. Work Email. #YahooMail. All those sorts of things whatever I do in all those websites. But then, I couldn't do any of it because Google Chrome was not working!!!

I asked my friends on Facebook how to solve the issue, and they said, "Just use Edge, you're better off with Edge browser anyway. Chrome is overrated." Obviously, they can't empathise with me, because to them it seemed like my problem was just nothing. Yeah, it's easier to use a different browser, and I won't waste my time trying to fix it since I'm not that cluey when it comes to computers. But the thing is I am the type of person that when something has suddenly stopped working, a computer, for example, I will do everything to find a solution to it. I can't just concede to the idea that I can't do the "normal thing" anymore.

So I started my computer again, clicked the Google Chrome icon, and Chrome would still not open. It would open but it would just go white and it would close by itself. I clicked it again, and it did the same thing. Over and over again. What's going on? I started to have many suspicions in my mind, like someone hacked my computer, sent malicious software, and that's why Google Chrome crashed. I don't know what phishing means, but could it be one of those?

You see, I don't write my blogs on my phone. I prefer using the computer for this purpose, as I like typing (my typing speed is over 70 WPM). Whereas with the phone, it's so easy to commit typographical errors because of that auto-correct thing on the phone keyboard. It's quite annoying. Plus, I've got Grammarly installed on the computer as well, which helps check for spelling and grammar errors, so that's why I prefer working on the computer. And this problem just wasted almost my entire day trying to fix the problem.

First Solution: Uninstall and reinstall Google Chrome

  • Type Control Panel on the taskbar and hit Enter.
  • Control Panel will come up like this (see photo below) if "Category" is selected next to "View by".
  • Then click "Uninstall a program" under Programs.

05012020-01.jpg

  • Then, scroll down to find Google Chrome and then double-click it.

    05012020-02.jpg

  • It will now ask "Do you want to allow this app to make changes to your device? Click YES to uninstall or change application.

  • Open a different browser to search for Download or Install Google Chrome. Then, install the program on the computer. Wait until it's finished installing.


Now, I did those steps, and when I clicked Google Chrome on the Start Menu, the problem was still there. Google Chrome just appeared as a white screen and then closed by itself. Obviously, the first solution didn't work.


Fix #2: Hard Reset Google Chrome

This solution would involve totally clearing the Chrome profile on the computer. So, I was really hesitant to try this solution which I found on Drivereasy.com because I wasn't sure if it was going to work as well. But I did it anyway because I was desperate.

  • On the search bar next to the Windows log key, type "Run". The search result will show the best matches. On the top is "Run" so click it.

05012020-03.jpg

  • Type the following in the box and click OK or press Enter:
    %USERPROFILE%\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\User Data

05012020-04.jpg

  • Find the "Default" folder. Copy it first and save it in another drive or location to have a back-up. Once completed, delete the original folder.

05012020-05.jpg

  • Open Google Chrome to test the solution. If it doesn't work, reset Google Chrome in safe mode.

Now, I didn't have to reset Google Chrome in safe mode because the second fix actually worked. I was able to open the Google Chrome but of course, all the settings were gone, like saved passwords, bookmarks, etc. I had to do them all over again. But that's the least of my problem.

I had to pin Google Chrome on the taskbar because that was how it was before all of this occurred. I wanted it to just go back to the way it was.

Then, another issue came up that annoyed me so much.

So, Chrome was pinned on the taskbar. But every time I click it to open the browser, it would open another window, instead of the icon itself, as shown in the photo below.

chrome.jpg

As you can see, there is no line under the original Chrome icon, but instead, another Chrome icon appeared. I looked for solutions again, typing this in the Google search bar "Chrome opens a new window when you click the icon". There were lots of results for sure. But none of them could direct me to the proper solution.

As usual, I had to call my friends' attention on #Facebook. A lot of them would know an easy fix for this minor issue.

05012020-06.jpg

So thankful that within less than 30 minutes of my Facebook status post, one of my friends gave me simple troubleshooting steps that worked. So grateful for this friend of mine. The easy solution is as follows:

05012020-07.jpg

Now I know what to do next time when I encounter the problem again because this issue has happened to my computer before and my solution back then was to reformat my computer. Imagine what a huge hassle that would have been if I chose to reformat my PC. I would need to back up my files first, then reinstall Windows, update it, which would then take forever, and install all the programs that I use, and many more.

Google Chrome Image Sourced from Pixabay
All screenshot images are my own.

rsz_transparent.png

I_SPY2.jpg
Image Source

I SPY WITH MY LITTLE EYE: SOMETHING... SOMETHING...

Feeling detective-like????

Join me for some of Tiger Lily's mystery and spy adventure on Uptrennd!!!
Check this out -------- I SPY: SOMETHING BIG IS COMING!!!

You may use this link to get 100 1Up:
https://www.uptrennd.com/signup/ODQzMzI

evlachsblogta.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66439.14
ETH 3005.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68