Donation Based IT Services - From Home to Enterprise Solutions

in #troubleshoot8 years ago (edited)

Need help managing a Windows Domain? Virtual Machines giving you the blues? Have a Linux host but don't know squat about bash scripting? Cisco switch needs ports to be configured?

Since Steemit is all about people expressing their individual talents and ideas, I thought this might be a pretty cool.

A brief background on me and IT

Ever since I was a kid playing Oregon Trail on the gigantic 8in floppy disks, I have always loved technology and computers. As we moved through the generations using computers and OSes like the Mac IIe, Windows 3.1, Win95 and the beloved Windows 98, I have steadily learned more and more contributing to my expertise today.

At college, I studied computer science and information technology and ended up with a B.S. in I.T. From there I went from operating my own computer repair company in Salem, OR to eventually moving to Seattle where I now work full time at one of the fortune 500 tech giants here.

My expertise

Primarily, my daily work and the majority of my work history revolves around:

  • Windows Server 2008-2012 administration
  • System Center tools specifically: Hyper-V, Virtual Machine Manager and Operations Manager
  • Physical device troubleshooting - all the fun hands on stuff like diagnosing memory and CPU issues
  • Network configuration - primarily Cisco products, some F5 load balancers
  • Powershell scripting (mmm automated remote administration and reporting)
  • Linux desktops and servers - currently manage ~800 nodes in a Hadoop linux cluster

Additional skills (learned in spare time, intermediate level)

  • Web development with HTML, CSS and javascript/jQuery scripting (learning Node.JS)
  • C# development - learned while creating simple games in Unity
  • Mac OS - not a huge Apple fan, can troubleshoot and repair them, but not frequently

Donation based service trial period until Friday the 12th (when No Man's Sky comes out for PC haha)

If you are in need of any of these services, or other IT related tasks, I would be happy to provide them outside of my current working hours when I am available. I do not want to ask for a minimum as I want to gauge how the community will respond to something like this and I know there are people out there who don't want to spend hundreds on Geek Squad...

Here is how it will work

  • If you have a reputation of 5 or above:
  • Send any amount of Steem or Steem Dollars to my @discombobulated wallet along with an email address to contact you at to start the ticket. These funds will give you a place in the ticket queue and will be used to do the initial investigation of your ticket.
  • The highest amount received will be responded to first (when I get home from work) with the next priority on the time sent.
  • After the work is completed, feel free to tip any additional amount you would like for the work performed.
  • For physical repair items, grab a webcam and I will help guide you through the repair

Disclaimers

  • I have the right to decline any ticket or request
  • No refunds will be given, this is a donation based service and all time/effort is given on a volunteer basis. Only donate funds you are happy to give for the service.
  • I AM NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR DATA LOSS OR ANY DAMAGE TO YOUR HARDWARE / SOFTWARE. ALWAYS BACK UP YOUR DATA FIRST TO AVOID PERMANENT DATA LOSS FROM DEVICE MALFUNCTIONS AND FAILURES!!! YOU ARE FULLY RESPONSIBLE FOR YOUR OWN EQUIPMENT, IF YOU HAVE ANY DOUBTS, GO TO YOUR LOCAL PC REPAIR STORE INSTEAD.

Last Thoughts

I would like to share your tickets here on Steemit to help other people out in similar circumstances. If the tickets involve private information, or if you do not consent, they will not be shared.

Also, there is the potential for this to become a long term project that I continue on with. Individuals who are respectful and donate considerately will be always welcome with priority service when available. Those who are aggressive, disrespectful or try to game the no minimum donation requirement will be ignored.

Sort:  

Dropped the reputation requirement to 5. Didn't notice the rep system had changed.

Or is 5 too high now? Maybe 4 or 3 or something? Not sure...

Maybe 5 is too high. I have a reputation of 42. That suits me fine. It's the ultimate answer to life, the Universe and everything after all.

I like this in theory (I think) and I upvoted. However, since every steem penny I get I immediately convert to steem and then power up, I have no currency.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63887.77
ETH 3417.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56