You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: In Defense of the Baroque Trombone

in #trombone6 years ago

OMG! Your post is past financial recognition but will always deserve to be read and enjoyed. I am also an enthusiast of period brass instruments and a baroque trumpet player. I had a 1903 "peashooter" trombone in the key of C. It was about eight feet long, and the bore was about the same diameter as a trumpet. It was elaborately engraved silver without a single flaw, despite having no case.

Today, it may still hang unnoticed in a pawn shop after my ex-wife took it.

Somewhere in the Nashville, TN area?

Sort:  

Thank you! I originally wrote this for a class, but then edited it for Steemit. That's a rather odd trombone to have from that era. I wonder what pieces it was used for?

Oh, I didn't use it for pieces!!!! I could tell it was a treasure the minute I laid eyes on it. I would never have parted with it, but my ex-wife took it and my entire trumpet/flugelhorn collection to a pawnshop. I've tried to find them, but I guess she's spent her $20.

Oh, you mean musical pieces😀 Since I had mentioned taking apart old trumpets and reassembling the pieces I was confused.

As I understand, it was used in "community bands" around the turn of the 20th century. It is smaller and lighter, so it probably was used in marching bands. It was in the key of C (~8ft tube length) rather than the normal F (~12ft tube length).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58430.35
ETH 2623.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42